"A Place Where We Always Be"

3 34
Avatar for Samay-Ban
2 years ago

Going back to the place where we used to live. It's where we started everything. Where I finished my Primary, Elementary and Secondary. Where my precious memories are. Where we grew up and where we spent almost of our lives. Even if we move far from it, we still go back and visit. I love everything about this place. The people, the river, the mountains, the fields, the hotspring and many more. It's what we call hometown. Our beloved hometown.

According to Cambridge Dictionary, hometown is "the town or city that a person is from, especially the one in which they were born and lived while they were young".

We visited last April 30 due to our grandmother in law's death anniversary the next day. Her children were all present. Some of my husband's cousins came also. My grandfather in law was very happy when we went to his place. He gladly welcomed us all. His smile was priceless. I could see his longing to his children and grandchildren. Because of this pandemic, we were not able to go home during the death of his wife. But now that the lockdown was lifted, we were able to go home.

We seated for hours telling stories and doing stuff. After that, I went to visit my dear friend because she's in the neighborhood. I shared about these platforms and she gladly accepted it. Now, she's my affiliate and was able to publish an article also. She's happy because I introduced it to her. She spends her time writing instead of just playing games if she have spare time. I encouraged her to write and write. After some time, we went and ate snack. Then I went back to my grandfather in law's house and called my husband in order for us to go home.

The next morning, together with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law, we went back and helped in cooking, doing the household chores as well as slicing the pork for "pancit". The people started to gather until lunch time. I also helped in reaching out the paper plates where the food was. We call this in our dialect as "warag". Distributing the foods to people. Helping each other until everybody have their own food in hand. Some went home and some stayed until we finished our lunch. We rested while the younger ones did the washing. After finishing the work, they went to the river. Unfortunately, it rained so they came back quickly. They still enjoyed it even if it's a short period of time.

If only the students finished their module, they will stay longer. Grandfather wants to spend more time with them but because of module, he can't. They all went back to the city after three days. I stayed because I have something to do. So when my husband went to the city, I went to my parents' house and stayed there for two days. My sister and I were able to visit our school during highschool. It's very different from our time. The school premises and the school buildings changed. A big change. It was developed. By the way, we used a motorcycle going up to Sangey, our school. After two days, I came back to the city as well.

I really missed my hometown. I went and took a bath in the Maatong Hotspring. Also in Matamnay, where the water flows coming from the trees. It's cold and refreshing. This is where the people wash their laundry, wash the dishes, get their drinking water and where people take a bath as well. I'm so glad I was able to go home again. It's where my parents and in laws live so I was able to visit them. I enjoyed my time staying there. Like they said, "there's no place like home." Few days from now, we will go back again with my husband. Gonna rest and have a vacation for two weeks maybe.

I LOVE MY HOMETOWN. 
IT'S NOT WHERE I LIVE NOW BUT 
I WILL GO BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN
TO VISIT.

There are several songs about our hometown. Some of the people composed a song about it. It's pleasing to the ear. Let's appreciate the place where we came from and where we grew up. Even if we can't visit or go back, let's not forget about it. Be proud! 'Til next time...

3
$ 4.23
$ 4.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Samay-Ban
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Samay-Ban
2 years ago

Comments

Such a sweet place, holding our hearts. Thanks for the memories, S.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is a sweet place. It brings back memories when you go home hehe. All the things you forgot will slowly return upon going home..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

<Sigh> be going there someday

$ 0.00
2 years ago