Who should be left holding the bag? A question of conscience...

5 15
Avatar for Samantha-Smith
2 years ago

I've been seeing a few articles about safemoon lately and it's inevitable downfall as a pyramid or ponzi scheme. Like many newbies, I too bought some safemoon tokens soon after I entered the cryptosphere...only about $70 worth (£50 conversion), but still for me at the time it was a blind leap of faith into what is turning out to be a hyped up chasm!

...mmm...grrr...I also thankfully bought other currencies before and after this misstep and hold a few £k across Eth, Polygon, DOT, CARDANO, SOL and LINK, slowly building a portfolio to diversify my investments, and so I see my Safemoon investment as an uneducated blip lol. A rookie mistake if you were.

I now steer clear of "to the moon", no utility meme coins and only invest in worthwhile projects that I have researched myself. So I give myself at least half a chance of achieving success with my investments :-)

Unfortunately, I still hold the dirty li'l bag of shitcoin, which depreciated drastically the moment I bought it down to about $25, not least because of the "taxes" it seemingly cost me to acquire the little invisible buggers! It's currently "worth" (and I use this term very leniently!) about $14 USD. I was a bit excited to see it go up to around $30 at the peak of the market, hoping it may claw it's way back to purchase price so I could get out without a loss. Ha! No such like. It's value is now seemingly dwindling towards extinction.

So my moral dilemma is this: Do I exchange the grubby little bag for a tiny piece of BTC or Tether or similar and send some other poor unsuspecting newb up the creek without a paddle, having lost a few bob myself on the deal, or do I just suck it up, and hodl the little crapshoot until the inevitable rugpull happens and I draw open the strings to find that the bottom has fallen out and the bag is now completely empty?

Would it be morally outrageous to sell now, given the already low value? Or should I set a new goal to go down in history as the longest hodler of shitcoin ever and perhaps become the last "honourable" woman standing in the largest pile of worthless poo :-)

Photo credit: Readymade

https://www.pexels.com/photo/empty-white-textile-bag-placed-on-marble-table-in-room-3850479/

2
$ 0.09
$ 0.05 from @Just1dood
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jaxson
Sponsors of Samantha-Smith
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Samantha-Smith
2 years ago

Comments

We've all been there. I'm also holding a bag of shitcoins. No point selling. Who knows, maybe by a stroke of luck someone like Elon Musk may tweet about it in the future and it shoots to the moon. I can only hope. Btw, I love your imagery "up the creek without a paddle". I'm gonna borrow that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah one can only hope. But I'm resigned to having lost the money now anyway so if it recovers and starts pumping, then I'll feel nothing to sell it, but for now, I'll just hold and not perpetuate the situation. Lol the idiom is slang, origins are sketchy, with some attributing it to Nelson's time, other's to Lincoln's time and others to the Scots; but not my invention. I do like it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the slang. It paints a very vivid and yet comical picture in the mind as to its futility. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats a tough situation, I read a lot of posts about safemoon but something didn't sit right with.

The first question I would ask is. Is there a use case for the token?

And second, Do you know much about the team behind it and any other projects they may have been involved in?

Don't get me wrong there are many great tokens that didnt have a solid use case starting out, but established one or more over time, but these are usually factors which either grow my interest or make up my mind.

If there is a solid us case and a good team behind it I would HODL, if not you are stuck with a tough dilema.

I hope that migh be helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From what I understand, dilemma it remains then. Thanks for stopping by Jaxson ;-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago