Power up your POB - Power up your community!

13 42
Avatar for Samantha-Smith
2 years ago

Funny story...yesterday was Hive power up day and being new to Hive and POB (joined June-21) I was eager to take part. Then I realised that it literally only applied to powering up Hive. The clue was actually in the name lol. Anyway, for some reason I don't earn a lot of Hive although I do earn some POB. I really do try to write quality content in Proof of brain, and so to date I have focussed on quality over quantity. Some can do both as they have the time to dedicate to the platform, either because they are full time bloggers, or are perhaps retired and don't have a traditional day job demanding their attention, or perhaps don't have the responsibility of children to factor into their day. Children eat up your time like no other but I wouldn't change that fact for anything :-)

When I have looked at my rewards on a post I can see that the rewards from curators are almost always higher in POB allocation than in Hive allocation. I am guessing that this is because I post almost entirely though the POB frontend and that most of my readers are POB front end readers too so that their own wallets are balanced in favour of POB tokens. This is not necessarily a bad thing and I do love Proofofbrain. I was just hoping to be able to join in the monthly Power Up day. Oh well, I guess I'll have to save my Hive tokens up and and hope I earn enough in August to join the September Hive power up day. If I have somehow misunderstood this, I'd love to hear from you in the comments.

Now on to the "funny story" part of my post...yes, I hadn't got there yet. I kinda felt the digression was important and funny in itself. The funny story is in the coincidence that happened next...

So, after my initial disappointment, I came across the new monthly "Brain Power Up Day", an initiative by @felipejoys to promote POB power ups on the 2nd of each month (so as not to interfere with the Hive promotions for the 1st of the month, quite considerate if you ask me). If you haven't seen this month's post, you can read it here: Brain Power up Day - the 2nd of every month It provides all the details to get involved and the tags that need to be used etc. Bear in mind the cut off times are based on UTC time.

All I can say is, Yay! Anything that supports the continued cycle of growth of the Proof of brain platform, that promotes engagement and staking of POB tokens, has to be commended and supported in turn.

This community is a diverse community albeit mostly of like minded individuals who enjoy the art of writing and curating, learning and growing through positive engagement, and earning a little on the side for their efforts. Just as ordinary crypto staking allows one to earn a pretty decent APR return for providing token liquidity to the pool, so staking POB by powering up in your wallet, allows one to earn increased curation rewards. The best benefit of powering up is that it is not only for self-benefit. When you power up, you increase your voting power and with that the maximum rewards you can offer to other contributors on the platform, which helps others feel more valued and allows them to enjoy more success, and in turn thereby provides greater motivation and stimulus to create better quality content for the platform. Their success is mirrored in your own success through increased curation rewards. As you stake more, you earn more, so you have more to stake...and the cycle continues.

At some point you may decide that you want to withdraw a small portion of your earnings on a regular basis, and that is ok too. I haven't done so as yet as I would like to get to a decent enough size stake that my resource credits last longer and I can therefore curate a larger number of articles each day and support more writers across the platform. It really sucks when you have been surfing around the platform enjoying a diverse range of genres and articles from as many different people as possible, and you see your voting power dwindling to nothing. I honestly feel like I am cheating those authors at the end of my curation time for the day :-( And it especially hits me when I have just read something I really liked from a brand new POB member and I realise my upvote just gave them little to no recognition for their post.

It is therefore very important, from my perspective, to ensure that if I am going to be part of this platform, that I support the platform and remain actively invested in it. I would hope that others felt the same. To this end, if everyone just pulled POB out (by selling) all the time, the price would dive, as supply would outstrip demand, and a lot of people would potentially leave and seek greener pastures. The diehards would remain I am sure, especially those who first and foremost just have a love and passion for their art and creative side, and enjoy the community engagement on Proof of brain, and nurturing relationships with a diverse range of people. So this is why I encourage everyone to get staking as much as they can, do your bit to strengthen and grow this community and you will benefit in more ways than you thought possible.

Today I powered up 25 POB. It would have been more but for the fact that I had just powered up before I came across @felipejoys article and contest. I for one will be supporting Brain Power Up Day every month from now on. The question is, will you?

Photo credit: [Belle Co](https://www.pexels.com/photo/silhouette-photography-of-group-of-people-jumping-during-golden-time-1000445/)

Lead photo credit: Photo credit: Polina

5
$ 2.62
$ 2.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of Samantha-Smith
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Samantha-Smith
2 years ago

Comments

Hello! I created an account on Peakd a few days ago, but I haven't published anything yet. I don't really understand how all voting power works. And I think I need to do some research. Can I access Proof of Brain with my Peakd account?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hi there. You can read up a lot in their faq: https://hive.blog/faq.html Yes you can use your hive keys to log in to Proof of Brain. Just go to proofofbrain.io and use the hive signer or hive keychain extension in chrome to login. You can find me at @samsmith1971. I am relatively new myself but will help where I can and I know others who can help with questions too :-) Follow me and I will follow you back. You can always then hit me up with a question on one of my posts :-) either here on read.cash or on Peakd or POB

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much!. I'll do that. I just need to find the time to put myself into it. I was quite focusing here since I wasn´t noticed by the robot for some time. But now, I'm and I would like to give a chance to Hive too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

agreed and have investors, right now as it stands it's really only two major buyers and hope to see more in the future then maybe people using the POB frontend so trending and hot aren't ads for other stuff lol ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hello there Ms. Samantha!👋

Hmm.. As for me, I am not also engage this Hive thing you have mentioned above. As of now, I am more into this platform. But I'm looking to also start my journey on hive too.

While reading it, I also learned that like this platform, I can earn, learn, and give some of mine. "Sharing is caring!" as what people says..❤️

God bless you!😇🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should go for it, you won't regret it. Such a great range of genre and articles to read as well as a great curation community to write for so it's a win all round.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good initiative too, just like here at read where we earn some and also give back or pay forward some. I haven't had the chance to start my hive journey yet. Hoping I can, one day soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When you read articles and upvote, you also earn a portion back too. It's a very well thought out platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, that's nice. Thank you for this info :) Hope to see you there one day soon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by again and you definitely should start that journey. I am addicted to it ;-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure :) Yes, I will try to arrange my tasks so I could start.. thank you for the good push :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have yet to check what POB. I can only spend most of my time here in read. Managing this is a challenge already and then I have noise which I can't visit often anymore :D To add one more platform seems too much :D Good luck on your Hive earnings!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love Proof of Brain community as much as Read.cash. I actually make more money on POB as it is the members of the community to vote on your rewards by upvoting your posts, so it isn't as random ;-) thanks for stopping by and supporting me again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago