Clacking on the Keyboard

0 7

I'm clacking on the keyboard and automatically I think I should be aware my parents in the room next door might find this freewriting exercise as manic chatting.

"Who are you chatting with?" my Mother is always asking me. "Make sure they are good people okay? Don't associate with the strange ones."

How do I tell my Mom that I'm the strange one? That I like staying up until 3 AM because being alone in the dark with the blue glow screen of the monitor is fun to me.

"Mom they're not strange people I chat with, besides I'm not even chatting right now I'm writing". My Mother ignores me and leaves the room after a quick scolding, "Don't stay up too late. I mean that it's not good for you, last night you were up late I could hear it."

Yeah Mom, I'm clacking on the keyboard. Apparently it's going to be for at least ten minutes straight too. My WPM is mildly impressive, I did take typing in middle school and I was competitive with my friends in class on speed and accuracy so you can say I got a bit of a head start in that department. Clack clack clack clack spacebar clack clack clack enter key.

I should have mentioned earlier I did get a filter for that blue glow screen so now it's more like a light amber screen. The color is like washed out plasma. That's a weird association for an electronic piece but it just fits so well. They say the womb is the ultimate comfort zone. I'm pretty comfortable right now.

My Mom usually pokes her head into the room around 11:45 every night to see what I'm doing. Lately since I've joined read.cash I'm clacking. She must wonder what is so exciting for me online (writing), I know I would if I were her. I would ask me if I could read some of it.

"Go to bed soon okay"

Mom never asks to read any of this thank God that's just the way I like it. One day she won't be around and I'll miss her scoldings. Every time I clack away now I'll remember this piece. Even in freewriting there's a bigger purpose for just about anything.

"Okay Mom I'll be in bed soon I promise"

That's a lie. Why do I do that to her? Lie?? It's to make her feel better of course and leave me alone. She usually falls asleep around midnight after she checks up on me.

I close the door silently.

I've got 3 more hours until 3 AM and then I can clack in peace.

2
$ 0.00

Comments

I enjoyed reading this and you made my day. I hope you will clack a lot more. Who knows you even make your mom proud if she reads you. A big thumbs up for you. 👍🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago