Facing Disappointments

0 13
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago

The idea of disappointment clearly showed its face to me back in my secondary /high school days. When i was little, i faced disappointments that i hardly remember vividly because they were not so painful back then. Disappointment when my brothers or elders will promise to buy me something and they failed to fulfil their promise due to one thing or another. They probably forgot or they don't have money with them at that time.

I remember an occurence back in my secondary school days. We often go for competition quizzes and debates where they will pick some students to represent the school in different occasions. We contest with different schools and colleges in competitions. The best students with all rewarded with prices both cash and other means.

Another invitation came in for the school where we have to represent the school in an inter school competition at the state capital, this time it was based on English alone, no other subjects. Our English teacher picked the top students who were leading the class then, especially those who were good in English and I was one of them. He told us of his plans and about the competition and told us to get prepared for the competition in the next few weeks. Our schedule was tight already because we were preparing for an exam then. Our plans increased and we had to prepare hard. I personally laboured and worked hard for the competition both in reading and registration.

When the day of the competition came, our teacher back stapped all of us by picking students different from us totally. He called us out of the class but pretended as he didn't know us before or as if we never had any talk before. Teachers have their favorite among students, he picked them instead. Those that haven't prepared for the competition at all and he told us to leave. I felt hurt and pained, all my time that i used. Everyone of us were shocked and hurt. "why did he pick us at the first instance when he knew he has his favorite " that was the question everyone keeps asking.

Some are not surprised when we get back inside the class, they knew him already and suspected that something like that will happen. I had other similar experiences like this (i might be sharing them later) but one thing i know is that these experiences had taught me some things:

  • Never rely totally on any man. No matter how sweet or pleasing their promises are.

  • Prepare for the worst. That way you will be able to bear it when it comes. That's how i trained myself, that "what if something happens and the person could'nt fulfill his promise?

  • I have learnt man's failure. Anybody can dissappoint no matter how great or Small.

  • It made me stronger over the years. We learn from experience.

Thank you for reading.

Lead Image Source : unsplash

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Royaldiadem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago

Comments