Struggling with School and SAPA

1 20
Avatar for Roshni
Written by
1 year ago

Since ASUU strike was called a month ago, after eight months strike, life as a student hasn't been easy. Honestly, working hard to revive the student in us, is a huge task after eight months of enjoyment, working and learning outside of school.

As a Sophomore, before the strike my classes were always around 8am to 2pm or 9am to 4pm, but now, things have been changed, my classes starts by 7am and ends 5pm, sometimes 6pm. Getting up as early as 7am sometimes, is very difficult. Why? First, during the strike for the first three months I wasn't doing anything, so I don't wake up before 7am, but when I started working, I wake up before 7am to meet up. Secondly, waking up around 6am o prepare for a 7am class after sleeping around 3am or 4am, looks like a suicide mission.

We've got to read, I have exams in December and studying overnight is the only time to read. Cause the day is Always filled up with activities. Adapting to student's life again,looks like an impossible mission when I resumed. I sat, thinking of how to plan my life within this short semester.

Even my free Fridays, is no longer free. It's lectures from Monday to Friday and it's very choking. Luckily, I was able to find that student in me again, and I'm back to my feet, struggling with school.

As if rushing lectures isn't enough, my courses are technically milking me for money. I'm sure I've spent up to 74 million this semester ( just exaggerating). Truthfully, I've spent more than scheduled this semester, all on books. I have oral presentation to make, like a drama, and that's a huge expense on me now, I have to buy or rent costumes, pay the person that's going to tutor me and others. Every week,I have to either print or buy books, it's more like a ritual now.

I'm tired of explaining to my parents, they thought I'm just spending my money anyhow, but I gotta spoil my self a bit, and for spoiling Myself, I bought ice cream and I don't think it's too much to take care of myself. Feeding and transport is another thing, this semester is meant to stress and Rob us of our money.

The Sun in my school, is wonderfully hot. It's like the sun is proudly sponsored by Hell. I mean,it's so hot, if you're light skinned in the morning, before evening the sun will turn you black. Well, we're all trying to survive this school,with all the stress.

Anyways, I pray we all succeed in this struggle of life. Today, is meant for books, I've got tests lined up for me next week. I'll try to post here, when I can.

And yes, my school is OBAFEMI AWOLOWO UNIVERSITY, ILE IFE, OSUN STATE, NIGERIA.

Lead Image source: Unsplash

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Roshni
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Awww.. Pele baby.. I can understand. That 74million got me.. It isn't easy being a student again.

OAU isn't a small school o.. Be strong you would Soro finish

$ 0.00
1 year ago