Frenemies ??

0 14
Avatar for Roshni
Written by
1 year ago


A particular black beauty and I have been friends for seven years before we ended things. Tasha ( not real name) and I met in church one evening during choir rehearsal. She is a good Alto singer, a strong one, while I am treble singer. Like a perfect duo, we always sing together at home, proud of our amazing voices.

I'm the type that do not get the chance to go out without reason. But, each time I inform my parents that I want to visit Tasha, they won't think twice before giving me permission to go. That's how close we were. At times, she'll come to my house, play together and gist before she leaves.

In her street, people already know us as best of friends. We were inseparable, we were more than friends, already sisters.

My mum will give me things to give to her especially when she's going back to school. The bond between us was marvellous.

The bond was powerful, or so I thought. Maybe she was faking it all through. But, I loved her and we do everything together. On market days, she will wait for me to come to her place, so we can go to the market together. I had fun, though.

The year everything changed was 2020. After the lockdown was eased here, I started learning how to bake. So, everyday I do go to work and luckily, my workplace is located at her area and I get to see her everyday after work to gist. Then, she was also working at a provision store, her boss was a nice unmarried man. He'll gladly tell me to come in and chat with my friend. He was that nice. Meanwhile, he was dating my friend. Well, I had no problem with that, I was happy for her.

In December 2020, after work as usual I decided to Branch at her place cause I was kind of worried about her. Each time I get to her place or store, she's not always around, though she was on her Teaching practice. When I send a message, she won't reply not call me. Before then, I've been hearing rumours of her being pregnant. I waved it off, why? I trusted my friend not get pregnant now cause she always say she must get married before handing sex. And I was like, she didn't invite me for any wedding, so it's a lie.

Luckily for me that evening, I saw her sitting outside the store,but she didn't see me. When she looked sideways and saw me approaching, she stood up, went inside her boss's house( his house is just at the back of the store) and locked herself inside. I met her boss and asked of her, he said she's sitting outside, I told him she wasn't there. He told me to check his room, I told him it was locked. He cooked up a lie for me and I went home.

At night I messaged my Friend and confronted her ok why she ran inside when she saw me. She read my text and ignored it. When I later saw her pictures some months later on Facebook, she was truly heavily pregnant. God! It was like a heartbreak. I was broken. As if getting pregnant out of wedlock isn't enough she started lying.

Remember I said I wasn't aware that she was pregnant. Then one Morning she sent me some voice notes on WhatsApp, accusing me of telling the church that she was impregnated out of wedlock. I was shocked,cause she said things I never expected from her. She accused me of a lot of things. I was like is this really my friend of seven years?

All she accused me of, I was innocent of them. I didn't tell anyone she was pregnant,neither did I discuss that she left the church. Ah, yes, she left our church when she got pregnant. I wasn't interested in discussing her life with anyone, all I wanted was my friend, my sister that we used to do things together.

I cried for days, cause I was hurt. It was like I was betrayed. All the lies she cooked up just to paint me as a bad person really got to me. I had to stop walking her streets, cause I could feel people's eyes on me.

Last year, she gave birth to a set of twins. I was happy for her. I congratulated her and even visited her. I am better than all this. I let go of whatever hurtful words she said to me.

We still talk on WhatsApp,but we are not really friends again. The bond was Broken. We interact as strangers now. At least, it's better than not talking at all. I miss her though.

Image source: Unsplash

5
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Mafer8866
Avatar for Roshni
Written by
1 year ago

Comments