Sugar Canes in our Hometown

5 19
Avatar for RosheiGanda
2 years ago

It's the month of December now! If you visit our place, it's quite usual for us here to process thy sugarcanes. You can smell the sugarcanes all around our place since we live in a bowl-like mountain.

Please have time to visit my wonderful and supportive sponsors. Arigato!

Sponsors of RosheiGanda
empty
empty
empty

December Month

If you come to our place now, you'll surely enjoy the smell of the sugar canes being cooked in a big vat. Or it's like the big sized "kawali"? 😅 I asked my hubby and he said, it's called a "vat". Can't search for the word right now. Mempz.

At the same time, we could hear the gongs being played right now. While men are doing the sugar cane chores, they play the gongs. I'm sure, there are women and young ladies who are with them. Dancing together. My sister is with her hubby right now so I believe, they're dancing there too. I didn't go there because, I'm not in the condition to go out. 😅 And I'm so tired from my whole day's household chores. Whew.

Let me ask, what special celebrations do you have in your place during the month of December? Or some seasonal chores like we have in our place?

We observe many things in our hometown each year. Sugar cane making, wine making, planting in the ricefields, and many more. What about in your province? Or your hometown? Any uniqueness too? 😊

Sugar cane Wine...

Steps in making the sugar cane wines. This is usually experienced during the month of December to January.

  • Gather all the sugar canes.

  • Separate the juice from it's stem using the machine... Many of us here use the carabaos...

  • Get the sugar cane extracts, strain them and pour them in a big vat.

  • Cook the sugar cane extracts in a bit vat until it boils.

  • When it boils, scoop the heated juice and transfer it in a barrel.

  • The one making it will mix a special plant to make it as a wine. Used to ferment the wine. We call it as a "gamu". I don't know the English term though. 😅

  • Some of the remaining juice from the pot will be cooked and be made as a sweetener...

Whew, it's hard to give the proper explanation. What's important is that, I gave you the overview of it. I believe you've seen it on TV, or you've heard it already, or maybe, you've seen the process in person.

Ending Thoughts.

I'm quite sleepy now so I have to end my article here. Thank you so much for reading it as always.

See you next time. Goodnight. 😴

3
$ 0.32
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of RosheiGanda
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RosheiGanda
2 years ago

Comments

Oh how I miss the scent of the sugarcane lingering in the air. So sweet and sugarcaney. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Truths. Comes kayo poeh dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next year na ganda. Hehehe. We can't go home din sa New Year coz vax schedule namin sa 29 eh. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see. Chige poeh. Goodluck sa next year. Good thing, nakapag vaccine na ako before coming here. Hehe. Merry Christmas ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas also! Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago