Life Lately Not Less Than The Chemist

8 66
Avatar for Roojoroojay
10 months ago

June 12, 2023

Am currently working on the green synthesis of Copper Nanoparticles using leaf extract of Azadirachta indica. So my daily university rountine is collection of fresh leaves, washed with distilled water and then cut into little pieces.

After cutting i put these leaves (almost 25 g) in beaker and add 400 ml distilled water in it. Then put the beaker on hot plate for getting the leaf's extract.

After this I did the filtration of leaf's extract.

The chemicals am using for making the Copper Nanoparticles are Copper nitrate and Copper Sulphate. First I was using the procedure which our supervisor told us in which we need to take the 20 milligram of chemical only but I didn't get any significant result from it.

I downloaded some research papers and every paper have different methodology of making the nanoparticles.

For the first methodology I followed, I needed 0.2 M Copper nitrate solution. As molarity was given so I used the molarity formula that how many grams of copper nitrate is needed to make this solution. I got the answer 19.32 g.

So I made the solution of 19.32 g Copper Nitrate in 400 ml distilled water.

After this i put the bottle on hot plate.

And add 100 ml leaf extract & magnetic stirrer in it. Finally the reaction occur and solution turn into deep green color.

This color mostly indicates the formation of copper nanoparticles. My heart wanted to do some more experiments😹, so i studied one more paper in which i needed 2.49g Copper Sulphate in 250 ml distilled water.

But for the synthesis of Copper Nanoparticles, I used 50 ml of aqueous copper solution and 150 ml leaf extract. I mixed both of them and then shake it well.

I covered this solution with aluminum foil and kept at room temperature for 24 hours .

Next day first I checked the U.V. of the solution, it was little bit noisy but it showing the peak around about 350 nm which shows the synthesis of Copper Nanoparticles.

Then I did the centrifugation of the solution.

But after centrifugation the problem arised in my life because the solution gave the zero or very minute yield, and after keeping that yield for 24 hours in the incubator when I checked then that yield was also flew away.

After this I did several experiments for getting the yield of Copper Nanoparticles.

But I failed and Mam gave the simple advice change your nanoparticles. In this time, I choose Zinc plus also getting the advices from ChatGPT to get good yield of Copper Nanoparticles. I hope I will be successful. Just because of playing with these chemicals now a days am not less than the chemist.

Thanks For Reading.....!

Image Source:

All images are original and clicked by me.

7
$ 0.41
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Meher-Mah
Sponsors of Roojoroojay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Roojoroojay
10 months ago

Comments

Nice. I enjoyed reading this as if I were joining you in experimenting. 😍 Nice work mate.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Thank you✨

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Ahhh! Good old days, when i used to work in lab. Probably this is your last sems of MS🤞

$ 0.00
10 months ago

As it's my last semester so I will also miss these days and no doubt these days are good, we are learning and enjoying the things together.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Oh my Gosh,

You are in my field hahaha 😅

$ 0.01
10 months ago

Hehe yes no doubt...... although am working on green synthesis but chemistry is also involved in every step of procedure.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

I am always amazed by the work of a Chemist.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Chemistry is the interesting subject that's why the chemist work is always amazing

$ 0.00
10 months ago