How to make Pumpkin Ice Cream

12 15
Avatar for Robi_Traveller
3 years ago

Pumpkin is the perfect addition to homemade ice cream. It helps naturally thicken ice cream to create a smooth and perfectly scoop-able ice cream. Serve it with crushed gingersnaps or a drizzle of caramel for an extra fall treat. Skip the pie and serve homemade pumpkin ice cream for your Thanksgiving dessert this year!

INGREDIENTS:

1 (15-oz.) can pumpkin puree

2 c. whole milk

2 c. heavy cream

1 c. packed brown sugar

6 large egg yolks

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/4 tsp. kosher salt

DIRECTIONS

The day before you plan to churn, freeze the bowl of your ice cream maker. Since your ice cream base will need to chill as well, we suggest making it the night before, too.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, whisk together pumpkin puree, milk, and cream. When mixture begins to boil, remove from heat and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk brown sugar and egg yolks until pale and thick ribbons form, 3 to 4 minutes. (You could also use a hand mixer.) Whisking constantly, gradually add about half of hot pumpkin mixture to eggs, one ladle at a time, to warm mixture through. Pour mixture back into saucepan with remaining pumpkin mixture.

Return pan over low heat and cook, stirring frequently with a wooden spoon, until mixture thickens, making sure the mixture never comes up to a simmer, about 4 to 5 minutes. To check if the mixture is done, coat the back of your wooden spoon with the mixture and swipe your finger through the mixture. If your finger leaves a clean line, your mixture is good to go—this will be at around 170°, if you're using a candy thermometer.

When the custard is adequately thickened, stir in vanilla and spices. Strain into a large bowl and place over an ice bath. Let cool to room temperature, then cover and chill at least 3 hours, up to overnight.

When your custard is chilled and your ice cream maker bowl is frozen, churn ice cream according to manufacturer's instructions, about 15 minutes, scraping sides occasionally. When ice cream is soft-serve consistency, transfer to another container and freeze until hardened, 2 to 3 hours, up to overnight.

13
$ 0.00
Avatar for Robi_Traveller
3 years ago

Comments

I have never tried a pumpkin 🎃 Ice cream i wonder how it will taste??? Maybe i will try this soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah its delicious😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never heard this types name of ice cream.i think it will be delicious.i gonna try it must as soon as possible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually I have never heard the name of ice cream before. But after seeing this post I will definitely try it in my house. I think it's not simple. By the way thank you so much for your article...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, I always loves ice-cream. It's my favorite food. But for some health reasons I can not eat it. Most of the people specifically children's are badly addicted with ice-cream.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same to you bro I always love ice cream... This is very good for health.... Thanks for your important comments yes you tell true children always favourite food ice cream....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So sorry to hear that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, I love ice cream . Ice cream is my favourite food. Hot season I eat more and more ice cream thanks for your article..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ice-cream is one of the most popular dessert. It is very delicious. It's taste is so good. Every people likes it very much. I love it very much. It's my favourite food Your receipe is just awesome. I'll try it at home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ice cream is my favourite food. I know that ice cream is not well for our health. Thank you for your information. I will surely try to make it in my house.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And your ice cream recipes very good for any cooking lover. This is very helpful. I hope this article read any person...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't know how to make pumpkin ice cream before reading this article. I will be able to spell ice cream after this article. Thanks so much for writing such a beautiful article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love ice cream. But i do not like pumpkin. I hate this. But the combination of this two item is just unbelievable. But i want to try this at home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love pumpkin ice cream. Pumpkin ice cream very tasty. My mother-in-law make pumpkin ice cream very well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's yummy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes so tasty

$ 0.00
3 years ago