It's Hard To Let Go!

0 25
Avatar for Rimsha
Written by
3 years ago

How many times do we have to let go of things?

As a child I always thought that letting go was easier for adults. I believed giving up on things you want or love becomes easier with age.

The first memory of letting go is of the day when I was all dressed up to visit my best friend who was in town after years. I was counting seconds but dad asked to stay home for he changed his mind.

The next memory is of accepting the fact that for rest of my life I have to sleep without hugging mom. I thought I would never be able to let go of that particular craving.

Then moving out of the house where I grew up because probably dad couldn’t handle haunting memories. I told the 12-year-old me that one day I would go back and buy that house. Years later I went to my town and saw that the house was long gone out of the sight and there stands a tall shiny plaza.

I had to let go of the dream of doing major in forensic linguistics.

I had to let go of the job offer that asked me to travel abroad.

I had to let go the idea of raising children of my own.

I had to let go the idea that with time letting go becomes easier. No it doesn’t. But your heart does stop aching.

Letting go is not easy but it is not the end of the world. When we look around we see every day or week or month we let go of small thoughts. Thought to travel, thought to see friends, thought to change a house or stay at one place, thought to attend a concert, thought to finish the tasks on journal. These all are wishes and without them we are nothing but lifeless river which flows but without serving any good purpose.

So keep making plans even if they sound impossible and even if you have to let them go. Isn’t it better to have colorless dreams than to have none at all.

2
$ 0.47
$ 0.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Rimsha
empty
empty
empty

Comments