Learning languages

0 16

​Have you ever attempted learning another language aside from your own language? I learnt Spanish after my graduation from the University and discovered that Portuguese is also related to Spanish as well. I speak and understand four languages; English, Igbo, Spanish and Portuguese but have you ever wondered what goes on inside our brain when we learn a new language?

​Some areas in our brain including the Broca area, increase in size and function when we learn languages. The Broca area is located in the left hemisphere of our brain and its job is all about language production. When children grow up, learning two languages at the same time; that is the English language and the local language, both languages are processed in the same area of the brain but when adults try to learn a new language, a separate area develops close to the first.

​It's being said if you want to have a very strong brain, the best ways are to play puzzles, solve mathematical calculations and play some games that increases intelligence quotient but I tell you my friends, the best way to have a SUPER BRAIN is to learn a new language.

​But why do some people learn new languages faster than others? When I was learning Spanish, it took me 10 months while most of my friends learnt Espanol within 3 months 😂. Well, the hippocampus and Broca area of the brain Is altered mostly in fast learners while the motor cortex of the brain is altered in slow learners. As you can see, I was a slow learner 😁 but I used my Spanish knowledge to learn Portuguese within 3 to 4 months.

​Learning a new language improves brain function as I earlier stated and provides a better memory, provides a more mental flexibility and improves your creativity. A little advise for you my friends who might wish to learn a new language, I asked those my friends to tell me their secret because I knew very well that they weren't studying more harder than me. They took brain supplements which made it faster for them.... You might want to consider that as well

1
$ 0.00

Comments