Dimple- The Little Turtle

4 16
Avatar for Rhoma
Written by
2 years ago

Chapter 2- Journey to the Sea

I keep on swimming further. I encountered fishes and asked them if they saw my comrades but they can’t understand me since I can’t talk.

I’m so exhausted, but more than tiredness, it’s much harder to be lonely. I wish Euno is with me. I doubt that she can even swim here.

Days passed. The deeper ocean is far more dangerous. Preys are all spread. I always hide like a crab fearing for my life. I wonder what my purpose here. I wonder if this vast ocean is my home, ‘cause it doesn’t feel like one, I feel so lost.

Months passed as I travel around. I feel out of place. No one can understand me and everyone looks at me with disgust.

“Look at his face. He’s so ugly.”

“Maybe he’s so weak and barely managed to survive. What a pity.” said by the swarm of fishes swimming beside me.

I ignored them. They’re right anyway. I’m too weak. I even have to rely to Euno and because of me she got hurt. However, I’m not ugly. I’m dimple. Euno and I both have one. Mine at my right and hers is in her left cheek. She said that it’s cute. I can see how adorable she is. I trust her that I’m adorable too. At least that’s what I have to think and believe. That’s the sole thing I have anyway.

Years passed. I’m already accustomed with this boring cycle in my life. I heard that there are times that turtles swim all together. So much time passed and I still don’t see any of my kind. Just how unlucky I am. I wonder if Euno can still remember me. This wound of mine is the only difference I have with the other turtles, I hope she recognize me.


 

I’m sleeping under coral reefs when a loud sound woke me up. I was surprised when I saw someone like Euno beside me.

I stared at it but it seems like it’s not a human like Euno. Half-human, half-fish…based on what I heard, I guess she’s a mermaid. It suddenly turned and saw me.

“Oh my! You scared me.” She said and stared at me.

“Woahh…you look…”

“Ugly? Yes sure”, I cut her off nonchalantly. I’m used to this anyway.

What? No! I’m gonna say that you’re unique”, she said smiling. It doesn’t seem like she’s lying. Maybe other mermaids have dimples too?

“Aren’t you gonna talk?”, she curiously asked.

“a-ahh..a-a—hh”, I tried speaking but I can’t. I just shrug.

“Oh, you can’t talk? I have an idea! We can use telepathy. Mermaids are powerful you know hahaha. Here I’m giving you my blessing.” she proudly said. I’m also amazed. For the first time, I can have proper conversation with someone.

“Okay. Close your eyes and say icho ton kymaton (Greek: echo of the waves). Then think of who you wanna talk to which is me.”

I followed her instructions.

Uhm hi?

“Yes! You did it!”, she exclaimed!

I excitedly swam around

I’m so happy. Thank you…uhh…what’s your name? Do you have a name?

“Of course I have one. I’m Mara. You’re really unique to ask me that. Oh, do you have a name?”

Yes! I’m dimple

“What an adorable name. Did you give yourself a name? I never met a turtle that has a name nor fishes, jellyfish or crabs hahaha.”

No, a human friend gave it to me

She paused and stared at me in shock then it immediately turned into excitement.

“Wow! You met a human? You’re even friends with them?

Yes but it’s just a short time. She was a child back then and she’s just one so I can’t really say that I’m friends with humans. It’s specifically friends with her. Her name is Euno. She did not understand me but she kept talking to me as if she knew how I’m feeling.

“Wow! Still, it’s an amazing encounter.”

Yes it is my most wonderful memory

We smiled at each other

BAAAAM!*

My eyes widened as I saw a huge shark bumping into the wall just right behind us. We immediately swam away from it.

“Gosh! I forgot about him”, she said

What do you mean you forgot? Don’t tell me you’re with hat thing?

“Of course not. I’m not with him. It’s chasing me!”

Oh thank you. Now I’m being chased too

“Hahahaha, don’t be so negative. It’s a great exercise”

Exercise your face, we’re dying here!

She just laughed. We keep on swimming until Mara and I went to different paths. The shark went after her. I immediately swam in a distance to see the surroundings. She’s in danger. I saw a huge rock on verge of a collapsing riff.

Mara! Turn to your right!

She followed my instruction and I swam and gave my best to hit the riff with force so the rock fell to the shark.

“Woah! Nice teamwork buddy! Hahahaha.”

I can’t believe she still has the energy to laugh

Let’s get out of here before it wakes up.

“Yes, yes hahaha.”


I tagged along with Mara.

So do you know where the other turtles are? 

“Nah, turtles don’t stay at the same place here. The travel in swarm but there are some turtles in our kingdom. You can choose to stay there like other turtles. You don’t have to worry about your expenses I’m quite rich. Well I’m the princess there hahaha.”

Princess? Seriously? You’re too barbaric to be one

“Hahaha, I get that a lot.”


“Welcome to Okeanio Vasileio, heart of the ocean Pacific.”

This is so amazing. Everything looks so lively. There are so many mermaids, fishes, jellyfish, and so on. They are all coexisting in harmony.

I saw two adult turtles and a tiny one. I immediately went to them.

They’re surprised for my sudden appearance.

“a-ahh!”, I spoke with excitement.

“They can’t understand you buddy. Hahaha, Hi there guys, he’s my friend and he’s excited to see his fellow turtles.”, Mara explained for me.

“Greetings, your highness.”, the three turtles bowed to Mara.

“You may rise”, Mara said.

“Nice to meet you, have a great stay here in the kingdom.”, the turtle on the left said to me.

The turtles left and Mara toured me at the whole kingdom.

I’m so delighted to be here. Am I going to live here? It’ll be so great. Finally I have a home.

4
$ 1.38
$ 1.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.03 from @Lucifer01
Sponsors of Rhoma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rhoma
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I love happy endings, tell me this is the end..Or is there a continuation?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

there's a continuation. This is actually an on going novel hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww please don't let them hurt Dimple

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww.... What a cute story! Liked this so much. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago