Dimple- The Little Turtle

4 36
Avatar for Rhoma
Written by
2 years ago

Chapter 1 - The Name Dimple and The Brave Warrior

I woke up with darkness and I can hear some noises around me. I tried to expand my arms and push this wall surrounding me.

"Finally, I got out of my shell."

"Hurry up, push each other up"

"Is everyone out? Let's go!"

Oh no, I'm still not out. I managed to crack my wall a little bit. My surroundings are getting cramped. I'm getting dizzy as I keep shaking and rolling. Silence, the noise is fading.

*knock *knock

I heard a knock so I pushed harder on my shell so I could go out. Finally, my head is out.

"Well done buddy. I thought you'll never get out, I was about to leave. Take off the rest of your shell and follow us quickly. We need to help each other to go up the ground", said by a creature that I think is the same with me. It's dark so I can't really see.

"a-ah-uhm..." I can't speak? She left ahead of me so I quickly shook off the remaining shells. I tried to climb the path that seems a trail of those who went ahead of me.

The sand collapsed too easily so I fell multiple times.

I wanna shout for help or at least let them know that I'm still here and if they can wait for me a little. I wonder why I can't speak unlike the others.

I have to do this on my own

I climbed and climbed. I did not give up until I reach the surface. I'm so happy to see the light. The first thing I saw is the blinding light then when my sight adjusted I saw a vast blue sky. One of those white floating things there looks like me.

I have four arms a head and I'm inside of a shell. I feel too small as I see how high the sky is.

After all my hard-work getting out I thought I'll be fine. My happiness did not last as soon as I heard the screams of my comrades.

squaawkkk* eeeeek*

I gasped and hid a little in the sand.

Those big flying creatures with sharp nails and beak are so scary.

"Focus on getting on the sea!" shouted by one of us who went ahead. They look so slow but I can see that they're trying to move the fastest of their own phases to get in the sea.

Are we supposed to go there? I'm scared to go alone.

I looked at my surroundings to see if I can at least find one friend who will walk with me but I got more scared to see someone like me being bitten by the big preys.

My eyes feel hot and water is pouring down. I feel cold and my whole body is shivering as I hear more and more screams. I also saw those who went in the ocean happily only to be caught by flying preys.

"There are more birds coming! Ahhh!"

I just hid in the sad as shut my eyes closed. I buried my head so I will hear less of their dying screams.

Few hours passed and the screams were all out the same with the noises of the birds.

I went up again and I heard some giggles.

"Mom, look!. It's a babwi turtwle?", said by the being while pointing at me.

I got scared so I tried to go back but it held me up.

I feel like I wanna throw up feeling this scared and being lift so high.

"Sweetie put it down. It needs to go back to the sea. Adore it a little the let's head back. We need to eat."

"Oki mom. Here you gwo babwi turtwle"

She gently put me down. I stared at her with pure confusion. I realized that she's not scary at all.

She patted my head then went away. It felt warm.

I looked around and it looks safe so I started walking to the direction of the ocean. I can sense it. I wanna feel the water.

I giggled when I finally saw the waves. I wonder if my comrades swam too far now. I hope I can find those who survived.

squawwwwk!*

I panicked when I saw a large bird flying towards me. I looked around and saw fallen coconut leaves. I walked fast as I could. I made it but the bird is too strong.

I bit the leaves so the bird won't get it out so I wouldn't be covered. The bird started flying while gripping the leaves so I was lifted off the ground with the leaves. It's shaking me off so I fell. The bird is coming fast and I can't run now. I hid at my shell but the bird's beak is poking me hard.

It lifted me several times and made me fall again and again.

It's getting heard to breathe and my whole body is aching.

Once again I fell and my head popped out of my shell

The bird immediately thrust its sharp nails on the side of my face so I wouldn't be able to retract my head again.

"ah-a--hh", I cried in pain

The bird's beak is coming closer. I closed my eyes awaiting for my death when I heard that warm voice again.

"Babwi turtwel! Shoo!"

With a fallen thin branch in her hand she bravely fought with the bird her size.

I saw her bleed in her arm. I cried again. I hope I'm stronger so I could protect her like how she's trying to protect me. She's so brave.

I'm feeling dizzy. I felt her soft hands again. I guess she won the fight. I don't here the bird anymore.

"Are you okay? Uwahhhh babwi turtwle you're bweeding (bleeding)!"

Is she crying for me? She doesn't even know me. I'm not even her own-kind.


I woke up feeling the cold water rushing on my body

"Are you awake? I'm washing you", she said

I smiled. "ahh-ahh"

She tilted her head

"Are you trying to tell me something? It’s sad that I don't understand you. I guess I can teach you a sign that only us can understand. Lift your hand as if you're reaching me then tilt your head"

I did what she said. I lifted one of my limbs then tilted my head. She smiled so wide. Her eyes are shining too.

“Yes like that! That means I love you for us” she said. She lifted one of her finger and I raised my limb too so it would touch hers then we both tilted our head and smiled. Her laugh is so good to hear.

“I’m Euno, do you have a name?” she asked. I shook my head side by side to say that I have no name.

“Hmmm”

She lifted my face then stare at me, specifically at the wound I got from the bird earlier.

“I’ll call you dimple. Look I have a dimple too! It’s cute isn’t it? I hope you’ll remember me than that bird when you feel your wound hihi. In that way you won’t be sad right? Do you like your name dimple?” I nodded then she smiled again.

Thank you

“Here you go. You need to go to the sea right?” she said. Her expression is sad but at the same time relieved.

I swam out of her hands. I looked back at her then saw her waving. I waved too.

She left when her mom called her.

I hope I can be with her but we’re not the same being. She’s the very first friend I had. I wonder if I can meet her again.

Well, I have to hurry up so I can be with my comrades again. I don’t know which way to go though. I think I should just go deeper.

Author's Note: This story is pure fiction. Hope to be with you all with Dimple's journey to the sea.

3
$ 0.44
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @jasglaybam
Sponsors of Rhoma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rhoma
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Cute words, always been fun to read your article. Keep up darling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm in just love with your art of Weaving words At first I just clicked your article randomly then after reading more and more I really started to like, love and appreciate your article. I really love this story from the bottom of my heart

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you so much. It means a lot to me to be appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love ocean animals. This is such a nice story. I hope more humans can be kinder to the animals.

$ 0.01
2 years ago