My Journey as an Athlete

6 38

Good evening everyone. Hope your having great day today. I don't have any topic to write on, so I came to decide sharing my story and experiences as a basketball player. And without any further ado bare me with your time as I go on sharing with you my story.

The Sport of Basketball is one of the most popular sports in the world. Basketball is fun and a good past time activity to others. Basketball is a great way to have fun with friends and possibly make some new ones and that the reason why basketball is so interesting and so fun to do.

My Basketball Experience

I started playing basketball when I was in my elementary days. I remembered everytime the classes ends we run directly to the basketball court to play with our friends. We didn't mind even though were still wearing our school uniform as long as we are enjoying ourselves. That happens everytime every after school. During Saturday and Sunday our friends stays mostly at the basketball court.

Image Source: https://www.google.com/amp/s/theculturetrip.com/asia/philippines/articles/why-is-the-philippines-obsessed-with-basketball/%3famp=1

During my high school days I still plays a lot with my new friends and classmates. Even though there's a lot of people that wants to use the covered court, we still wait for our turn just to play and enjoy ourselves because there are only two covered court. We are able to compete with some players who are older than us on that said court. Luckily we mlanaged to defeat them sometimes. I still remembered we played against a team with a lot of gangsters, they are so physical in the game and they cheats and complains a lot because the referee are also their companion. We just finish the game and leave the court to avoid us from being in trouble. We didn't mind the bet that time as long as we are all okay.

I also joined our Barangay Basketball Team and competed with the other barangay teams especially during "Fiesta's and Pa Ligas" here in our municipality. Sometimes we win and sometimes we lost because that's what games like. Right?

Medyo patpatin pa ako dito.hehe

Because of my fond and love of basketball everytime there's a basketball game happens in town, we always watch every game especially during "Intertown Basketball League", wherein every municipalities fights for the trophy in the said competition. Here we can see the players who are really good at playing Basketball at every municipality. The other team even gets "Imports" just to win the game and get the trophy. There's a big prize waiting for the lucky winners of the league.

The memorable game that I watched during that time was the game of "Gabisan Hilongos Team", which was our municipality team versus "Inopacan Team", which was also a solid team. The Hilongos team gets Mark Yee an Import who are a professional basketball player from PBA (Philippine Basketball Association) from the Team Meralco Bolts. It was a though and close game but at the end our municipality wins the League. After the game I did not miss the chance to get a picture with my idol Mark Yee.

Ex-PBA Player Mark Yee

During my college years I lay low to basketball because I want to focus on my studies that time. I still played basketball but not as the same as during my elementary and high school days. I really want to tryout to our campus varsity team that time but I ended up not doing it because I'm afraid that I might not be picked because there's a lot of talented players there and I'm afraid also that it might affect my grades. I only watch the practice games of our Varsity Team and during Sport's Events like Campus Meet, Intramural Meet and etc.

Right now, basketball is still in me and I still love to play and watch it. We even did became the Basketball Champions in our Company Sportsfest way back year 2016. Sometimes, after we finished our work here, we played basketball with the guards and the people here in the compound.

Sportsfest 2016 Basketball Champions

Basketball is already in my blood but everything changes now not the same as before. My work and family is the one that I prioritize right now. Priorities really changes as the time goes by.

That would be all for today. Thank you guys for reading my blog. Have a great day ahead and God bless always.

Lead Image Source: https://www.laphamsquarterly.org/roundtable/thrilla-manila and edited using Photo Collage App

<Author: Rhed>

<Date Publish: 11.09.2022>

Photos are mine otherwise stated.

Sponsors of Rhed
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 0.21
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @GarrethGrey07

Comments

Mostly sa mga boys mahilig talaga sa basketball. My partner also like basketball but I haven't seen him playing with friends as they usually go for a long rides.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo mostly talaga basketball nilalaro ng kalalakihan. Good form of exercise din kasi ang basketball. Mahilig pala sa rides partner mo po. Ayos din yan nakakapunta ka ng ibat-ibang lugar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hilig mo pala sa basketball sir. Mostly mga boys mahilig sa basketball. Hehe pero dad ko di marunong mag basketball sir..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo maam. Mahilig talaga ako dyan pero di na tulad ng dati na lagi talaga, work parin ang e focus.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basketball is a fun sport. I had so much fun playing and now it has been passed down to my son It's funny running into this article because I have thought about writing about it. Of course it will be on my favorite basketball player, my son :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looking forward on your article sir. Thank you for the support sir. I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago