Early bird catches the early worm

2 32
Avatar for Respa
Written by
2 years ago

Being able to read some interesting article and write something out of my mind is a blessing for me. I can improve my reading and writing which I can use too on my Occupationa english test. I promised myself that I would read at least 10 articles and wrote one everyday but due to some circumstances I can't commit. But I will try my best to do it. So how is everyone here? I hope you are all doing great. The weather here right now is so hot so I'm just here at my room with the aircon on. Hehe. Goodluck to my electric bill this month. 😅

Okay for today, I want to write about what my coach on OET Said about early riser. He explained it with an idion, an early bird catches the worm and I agree with what he said. So here is a way to become an early riser and catch those early worms.

Not everyone wants to be an early riser but I always did. Most of the people I wanted to emulate with my life were waking early in the morning, making the most of their day. It was something I desired to be true of me but was never able to accomplish until my mid-20s. I decided to change my habits. Nowadays I wake up at 6am cheerfully and excited to get started with the day and everything changed in just one month's time. If you've ever wanted to become an early riser, here are the exact steps I took.

Step 1

I set a 30-day experiment like what I saw from a video of someone I can't remember. He talks about the 30-day experiment and how it makes habit change seem more possible. He puts it this way, we often psych ourselves out of getting started by mentally thinking about the change as something permanent before we've even begun. But what if you thought about making the change only temporary say for 30 days and then you're free to go back to your old habits. This doesn't seem so hard anymore. he continues. 30 days is a long enough period to see if you like the changes in your life and after 30 days if you like the change it's easier to mark the behavior as already a habit. Now you can try the 30-day experiment for any life change that you're interested in but for me it became the month-long experiment that turned me into an early riser for good. I chose a 30-day period and committed to waking up every morning at 5 00 am it's just for 30 days. Surely, I can accomplish that I would tell myself and so can you.

Step 2

Set your feet on the ground. Look out the window every morning. When my alarm went off I gave myself only two instructions feet on the ground, eyes out the window. Feet on the ground as in stand up and eyes out the window as in literally look outside. These were the only two disciplined steps that I required of myself every morning not burdensome not difficult just two small actions in my head. As a matter of fact I just repeat the phrase feet on the ground eyes out the window. Those steps became incredibly effective especially on the days that I struggled to get up. They weren't difficult but once you complete those two steps you've won 80 percent of the battle. At that point, it requires a conscious decision to go lay back down and fall asleep plus depending on when you choose to wake if there's sunshine outside. The sunlight boosts your mood and literally biologically helps you stay awake but even if there is no sunlight feet on the ground eyes out the window after completing those two simple steps motivated by my desire to be successful.

Step 3

Go to bed when you're tired. Waking up early will mean that you get less sleep if you keep the same bedtime. So the most important change to become an early riser is to learn going to bed earlier but what time should that be? You let your body tell you. Change your thinking from I go to bed at blank pm and change it to I go to bed when I feel tired and let your body tell you when that is. It takes a little getting used to especially if you're used to wasting hours at the end of the day watching television or scrolling social media. But you remind yourself that you're only trying this out for 30 days and I can almost guarantee that after a few weeks of learning to listen to your body and going to bed when it asks you to, you'll love the new approach rather than simply letting the clock tell you how late you should stay up.

Step

Find a motivation for the morning. Waking up early is easier when you have a purpose to it. In most cases, your home will be quiet when you begin waking up early so use the time intentionally. During my 30-day experiment I was working to minimize the sentimental items that had collected in my room. It was a project I wanted to complete but I knew it would take time. Decluttering my became part of my morning routine. I'd wake up at five, declutter a box in my room for an hour then I'd make breakfast, get ready for review and be fully ready by the time I need to work.

Step 5

Awake is awake. There's a difference between awake and cheerful and some mornings that was helpful to remember. There were certainly some days when I felt alive and excited to be up but there were other mornings where I was simply dragging myself out of bed. I was the only one awake in my home, so my sloggy mood didn't affect anybody else. I'd often have to remind myself that my goal for the 30-day experiment wasn't necessarily to be a fully joyful "Pares" at 5 am, my goal was simply to be awake and over time as I appreciated more and more, those early hours in the day joyfulness came more naturally.

Step 6

Adjust after 30 days. Make a decision on how you want to continue. You can keep your designated wake up time or you can adjust to a new one or you can throw out the entire idea. If you've enjoyed the mornings, believe you're living more intentionally and don't feel like you're missing too much. Late at night almost certainly you will have begun reshaping your sleeping habits. You can keep your designated wake up time 5 am for example or you can adjust to a new one. After my 30 day experiment I had completed most of the work in my room but I still really enjoyed the review that I was doing in the early mornings. So I kept my 5 a.m wake up for monday, wednesday and fridays. On tuesdays and thursdays, I'd wake up at 6 which is when I wake up most days.

I hope these steps would make you an early riser like me. So go and catch those early worms.

https://unsplash.com/photos/VwMVWPqxSbU

Image source:

5
$ 1.03
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Kendy42
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for Respa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I couldn't do this as my work won't permit it. But the way our natural body clock was achievable if constantly do a specified time to be awake. I set up my alarm at 930 am but I woke up earlier than that because my body anticipated it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, we can set our own timeline.

$ 0.00
2 years ago