Diary of a Blockchain Fan – November 6th 2021

0 26
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Goodbye Fishy Friend

A quieter day for me today in the land of the blockchain as domestic chores restricted the time I had for other things. One of the fish in our tank died too, which was rather sad, but I guess we all come to an end eventually. Anyway, I did have time to do a little exploration on the web.

Cosmos Ecosystem

I have two favourite blockchain ecosystems and I like them both for much the same reasons. One is Polkadot/Kusama and the other is Cosmos. I’ve commented on the former a few times already in this series of posts in relation to the upcoming Polkadot parachain auctions, so I’m going to take the chance today to mention a few things about Cosmos and a couple of my most favoured projects in that world.

First off, I really do have to take my hat off to the enthusiastic and wildly upbeat nature of the folks who contribute to the Cosmos community, they really are an impressive bunch. You can’t help but be drawn into what’s going on there.

Osmosis

Aside from having a holding of ATOM coins, I also have some significant holdings in two other projects, Osmosis and Sentinel. The former is a cross-chain Automated Market Maker DEX that has a fabulous looking and delightfully easy to use interface that’s such a contrast to many other DEX. It’s worth a look even if you don’t intend to use it!

Sentinel

Sentinel is a terrific project, a network of decentralised VPNs, rather than a single centralised VPN, which is the common model. It means any party can set up and run their own DVPN. Looking at what’s on offer, it’s hard to see why anyone would want to use a single centralised VPN, with all the usual drawbacks this brings.

I’m in for the long-term with both Sentinel and Osmosis and look forward to further developments with eager anticipation.

Cosmostarter

One recent little downer in the Cosmos space concerned Cosmostarter. Being a life-long investor, I am naturally drawn to taking an interest in blockchain-related launchpads, so found Cosmostarter, which has recently opened its doors on Cosmos, of great interest. Getting in early on a project like this could be very rewarding and I had been wondering how to finance such an investment as I went about finding out more about the project, only to discover that its CSMS token lives on the Ethereum blockchain. Ugh. I was so disappointed. Given the current level of ETH gas fees, I’m simply not interested in projects that have tokens living there. Really spoilt my day, did that.

Until tomorrow…

Renaissance Man

Why this Diary?

I thought it might be an interesting exercise, as much for myself as anyone else, to keep a diary of my interests and activities in the land of the blockchain and all things crypto, so I’m going to give it a go at writing a short diary entry each day for the current month, November 2021. It will give me something to look back on and assess and it might offer up some entertainment and topics of interest to anyone who happens to read it.

The Usual Disclaimer

Please don’t take any of the above as financial or investment advice. It is intended to be nothing other than a little entertainment and information sharing. Always, but always, do your own research before committing your money to anything.

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of RenaissanceMan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Comments