Diary of a Blockchain Fan – November 5th 2021

0 16
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Polkadot Crowd Loans

And they’re off! Yes, they’ve started accepting contributions for some of the projects seeking to win a slot in the Polkadot ecosystem through the crowdloan auctions. It looks like being a hell of a few weeks.

Happily for me, I’d already made my final decisions as to which projects I want to support with my limited supply of DOT and worked out which option to take in backing these. Parallel and Astar are offering various incentives to take part via their platforms and, whilst I won’t use them for all the projects I support, I will use them for a few.

There are bonuses to work out, referral links to consider and, importantly, reminding yourself that your DOT will be tied up for as many as 96 weeks, even if, in some cases, you will get a fluid token in exchange. In fact, the fluid tokens you can get, such as Astar’s eDOT, are an interesting and welcome addition, but I suspect I will play it safe with these, not wanting to risk a more adventurous approach that leads to my being out of pocket when the time comes to exchange my eDOT for DOT. I’m likely to go for simple staking, assuming it is available.

It’s been interesting to see how some of the projects, such as Acala, have been incredibly successful at building their communities and levels of interest in the lead up to these auctions, which has shown in how quickly they have already secured a lot of backing in the form of committed DOT. I wonder if some of the other projects might be wondering if they too shouldn’t have put more effort into their community building and marketing.

Anyway, today I committed to supporting Acala, Astar and Moonbeam. Delighted with the last one as I was too late on the scene to get a piece of Moonriver over on Kusama. I will be following this up with another four projects over the coming days.

If you plan on committing DOT to Acala and want to pick up a 10% bonus then feel free to use my referral link here.

Twitter

As for the ongoing issue of keeping up with the vast stream of posts on my Twitter feed, I’ve partially solved that problem through the simple expedient of unfollowing a few people. Obvious, really!

Nodle

Must admit, I hadn’t heard of Nodle until I stumbled upon it this evening. If you don’t already know, it’s part of the rapidly growing Internet of Things ecosystem and has been around for a little while. It makes use of our mobile phones to build and maintain a huge network that picks up and passes on data that businesses want to collect and analyse from a vast array of devices.

Having previously established that where I live, in a rural location, the earnings from Helium are tiny, I wondered what sort of opportunities might be found with Nodle. In fact, it didn’t take long to work out that earnings won’t be great, but I like the idea of joining this particular party and even small earnings accumulate over time, so I installed their app on my mobile and will now sit back and see what happens. Time to plan for a posh overseas holiday for me and my wife?

Until tomorrow…

Renaissance Man

Why this Diary?

I thought it might be an interesting exercise, as much for myself as anyone else, to keep a diary of my interests and activities in the land of the blockchain and all things crypto, so I’m going to give it a go at writing a short diary entry each day for the current month, November 2021. It will give me something to look back on and assess and it might offer up some entertainment and topics of interest to anyone who happens to read it.

The Usual Disclaimer

Please don’t take any of the above as financial or investment advice. It is intended to be nothing other than a little entertainment and information sharing. Always, but always, do your own research before committing your money to anything.

2
$ 0.30
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of RenaissanceMan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Comments