Diary of a Blockchain Fan – November 2nd 2021

2 30
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago
Topics: Blockchain, Crypto, Diary

Social Media on the Blockchain

One of the hats I wear is that of a writer, which means I am always on the lookout for new ways to share my words, so I am naturally fascinated by the new social media platforms that have been emerging over the last couple of years or so. Some of these are built on a blockchain and are aiming to bring a less censorship driven and more egalitarian approach to things (suspect that might turn out to be more tricky than people are hoping). What’s more, some have introduced their own tokens, providing a means for creators to get paid for sharing their content. Interesting, thinks I…

The ones I have been looking at recently are Uhive, ReadCash, Subsocial, Publish0x and HiveBlog. There are others on my list, but I’ve not had the time to get to these just yet.

I’m looking for two things when assessing these platforms, namely somewhere I can grow my readership and some means of being paid for my content. Ideally, when it comes to being paid it will be in the form of crypto.


ReadCash

I’ve spent a fair bit of time getting to grips with ReadCash and so far things look positive. It seems to have a good size community, with plenty of blockchain enthusiasts, a rewards mechanism and a decent enough editing tool. Well, I obviously liked what I found because here I am, writing this series of posts!

Subsocial

I have also been experimenting with Subsocial, which runs on the Polkadot blockchain and styles itself as the next all-in-one generation of blockchain-based social networks. It’s still early days for these folk so no big surprise their user base isn’t any too sizeable right now. Having posted a couple of items and commented on a couple more, I can see it’s going to take some getting used to, being charged to do all these things. On the other hand, I’m definitely attracted to the facility to set up and offer your readership subscriptions. Things are quite different on Subsocial and I definitely need to spend more time on the platform getting to know more about it.

And that's just the first two! I know I’m going to learn more about the pros and cons of all these platforms over time and I’ll return with more in-depth thoughts on them at some point in the future.

Twitter Feed

Apart from exploring these new social media sites, I’ve spent ages of my precious time catching up on the Twitter feed. So much useful content from the world of the blockchain gets posted here and I try to check in at least once a day, but on this occasion, I left it for three days! So many incredibly enthusiastic blockchain communities on Twitter. They’re a joy.


Moonbeam

Finally, I managed to find a little time to take a closer look at the Moonbeam project on Polkadot. I’ve been trying to focus my attention on projects that offer both real utility and interest me personally. This one does and it’s one I aim to support in the upcoming Polkadot parachain auctions, which seem to be building up a frenzied head of steam right now. Got myself pre-registered for their auction crowdfund, so good to go.

Until tomorrow…

Renaissance Man

Why this Diary?

I thought it might be an interesting exercise, as much for myself as anyone else, to keep a diary of my interests and activities in the land of the blockchain and all things crypto, so I’m going to give it a go at writing a short diary entry each day for the current month, November 2021. It will give me something to look back on and assess and it might offer up some entertainment and topics of interest to anyone who happens to read it.

The Usual Disclaimer

Please don’t take any of the above as financial or investment advice. It is intended to be nothing other than a little entertainment and information sharing. Always, but always, do your own research before committing your money to anything.

4
$ 13.20
$ 13.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of RenaissanceMan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago
Topics: Blockchain, Crypto, Diary

Comments

Are you also on noise.cash? It's soooo much better than twitter (and less censorship too!)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not on noise.cash at the moment. Only really got back on to twitter after many years because so many of the blockchain projects use it as a main way of communicating with their community. Needs must and all that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago