Diary of a Blockchain Fan – November 13th 2021

0 20
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Hive.Blog

At the start of the month, as I summarised my intentions to post daily for all of November, I also took a run through the three social media platforms I would be posting to, these being Read.Cash, Publish0x and Hive.Blog. The first two I found nice and easy to use from the outset and, for one brief day at the start, Hive.Blog seemed pretty straightforward too, after I’d done some research. However, once I got to days two and three, I found things much, much more difficult on Hive and I posted an update to this effect. Well, things have moved on now and I felt it only right and proper to provide a further update.

The initial difference I had to get used to with Hive is that you access it via any one of many apps that act, in effect, as your gateway to the party. Whilst they all do essentially the same job, there are some differences, not the least of which is that some charge and some don’t, and the information on the Hive landing page doesn’t say much about these. You’re left pretty much to yourself. You also have to work out that even once you’ve signed up to one of these gateways, you still need to set up a dedicated wallet, something it took me a couple of days to realise as I initially thought this came with my ecency account.

But then I started to get helpful comments from experienced community members, some pointing me towards detailed how-to guides and outlining some of the core community rules and regs. This proved to be a real boon and greatly helped me on my way.

Perhaps the most helpful thing I learned is that you need something called resource credits in order to be able to do pretty much anything on Hive, be that posting, commenting or replying to comments. This is all part of the pay-to-use approach that underlies the way the platform works. Being new, you have diddly squat resource credits, aside from an initial freebie. There is a faucet you can use but I always found this empty. That leaves you having to call in to an exchange to purchase some coins. These coins you can then convert to Hive Power, which helps replenish your resource credits. Confused yet? You start to see why the platform takes a while to get to grips with.

However, you also earn Hive Power and Hive coins when people start responding to your posts and you get upvoted! Posts earn only for the first seven days and you get paid at the end of this period. Thus, from day seven onwards you start to earn rewards, in the form of Hive coins and Hive Power, which boosts the replenishment rate of your resource credits. Phew!

The long and short of all this is that now I am two weeks in, I am finding that a combination of my initial purchase of coins plus the rewards coming from my posts has finally meant that my resource credits replenish sufficiently each day for me to both post daily as well as comment on other people’s posts and, importantly, reply to the comments I receive on my own posts.

Yep, it’s been quite a lot to learn, but I am there or thereabouts now, the early frustrations have gone and I am slowly building up my profile and engagement levels, so it’s been worth it in the end.

Until tomorrow…

Renaissance Man

Why this Diary?

I thought it might be an interesting exercise, as much for myself as anyone else, to keep a diary of my interests and activities in the land of the blockchain and all things crypto, so I’m going to give it a go at writing a short diary entry each day for the current month, November 2021. It will give me something to look back on and assess and it might offer up some entertainment and topics of interest to anyone who happens to read it.

The Usual Disclaimer

Please don’t take any of the above as financial or investment advice. It is intended to be nothing other than a little entertainment and information sharing. Always, but always, do your own research before committing your money to anything.

3
$ 5.95
$ 5.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of RenaissanceMan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Comments