Diary of a Blockchain Fan – November 12th 2021

2 21
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Blockchain Time Drain

It’s been an interesting experience already, writing these daily posts. For one thing, it’s made me realise just how much time I spend deep in the world of the blockchain. As you’ve no doubt discovered for yourself, it can be an alluring, even irresistible, temptation, where one provocative beauty after another flaunts itself on the screen in front of your eyes, leaving you licking your lips and hungry to get to know them better. You read one article about some new project and, before you know it, you’ve read another six and an hour has flown by. Worse still, in the course of researching one project, you see mention of another that also looks tempting, so you sneak off for a quick peek and, there we go again, that’s another half hour gone.

I’ve tried, I honestly have, to exercise some self-control, for example, insisting to myself that I am only allowed to research one project at a time, but it rarely works. I sometimes even find myself trying to justify such detours by telling myself they’re essential for a better understanding of the project I started out researching. Yes, it is, I have to admit, all a big black hole that consumes more of my time than I could ever really justify.

Perhaps, I occasionally ponder, I need to take a break. I really shouldn’t allow myself to get too obsessive. That sort of thing never is good for you. Even collecting socks can, I’m sure, become a sad and unhealthy obsession. (If you should happen to be a collector of socks, I’d really appreciate your thoughts on this). But the problem with taking a break is that, when I return, there will be even more to catch up on! So, I continue on my happy way, telling the rest of the family I’m engaged in important tasks like searching out ideas for birthday presents, better offers for our utility providers or applying crucial Windows updates to the PC (that one is good for a couple of hours each month).

Anyway, I’ve spent enough time writing this post. It’s eating into my research time!

What about you, do you fear you’ve become a blockchain obsessive? Does your partner wonder what you spend your time doing locked in the office/bedroom/cupboard? And, most of all, what are your best excuses for covering up your obsession?


Until tomorrow…

Renaissance Man


Why this Diary?

I thought it might be an interesting exercise, as much for myself as anyone else, to keep a diary of my interests and activities in the land of the blockchain and all things crypto, so I’m going to give it a go at writing a short diary entry each day for the current month, November 2021. It will give me something to look back on and assess and it might offer up some entertainment and topics of interest to anyone who happens to read it.

The Usual Disclaimer

Please don’t take any of the above as financial or investment advice. It is intended to be nothing other than a little entertainment and information sharing. Always, but always, do your own research before committing your money to anything.

3
$ 0.58
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of RenaissanceMan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Comments

I think we can get obsessive about anything if our mind is set on it. I often find myself tangled in a rabbit hole of discoveries. What was your research obsession before blockchain?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to collect things and have to exercise considerable self-control when doing this. November to December last year I started buying Paul Weller CDs on ebay and it was only when I found I had filled up two whole shelves with these new purchases that I realised it was time to slow down. I also often binge read books on a particular topic; I think once an interest takes hold I want to find out more and more about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago