Diary of a Blockchain Fan – November 11th 2021

0 14
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago


Crypto Island

Did you know there is such a thing as a crypto project set up to buy an island? This was a new one on me when I stumbled upon an article about it today. Yes, Crypto Island has been set up to buy an island in the Bahamas, which is to be co-owned by anyone who cares to purchase some of their crypto tokens. I know this isn’t the only blockchain based project offering co-ownership of property, but there’s something about the prospect of having a stake in a Caribbean island, one that conjures up thoughts of paying a sun-drenched visit to your own little bit of paradise.

Polkadot Crowd Loan Auctions Begin

Of course, I couldn’t let today pass without pointing out that this very day marks the official start of the Polkadot crowd loan auctions, all that has gone before being merely the build-up and pre-pledges.

The well-marketed and immensely popular Acala is our early front-runner but Moonbeam is keeping it within sight. The structure of the auctions is actually rather complex, since there are eight parachains up for grabs but these have themselves been broken up into slots and projects can bid for a complete set (which covers 96 weeks) or any combo of one or more. It will be fascinating to see who wins out and whether or not the prior Kusama auctions are a guide or not.

Secret Network

I also managed to find a little time to hunt down some further potential investments in the Cosmos ecosystem and two that caught my eye are Juno and Secret Network. I’ve not had time yet to take much of a look at Juno but I did do a bit of digging into Secret Network.

Secret Network is focused on bringing to Web3.0 some of the same aspects of privacy that we all take for granted in our daily lives already. Currently, the data stored on smart contracts is public, which is a big turn-off for many people and organisations and, thus, limits the extent to which the benefits of decentralisation can be enjoyed by everyone. Secret Network provides a blockchain focused on maintaining privacy, one on which other projects can develop and deploy privacy rich dApps of their own.

There are other similar projects out there, such as Phala in the Polkadot ecosystem, but Secret Network looks to me like an appealing proposition in a space that has considerable potential. As ever, it appears to meet my criteria of real utility, a supportive community, evidence of delivering on its plans and a clear roadmap. I’m still mulling things over, but I suspect this is a project I will choose to back, perhaps by re-directing some of my staking rewards from other projects in the Cosmos ecosystem.

Until tomorrow…

Renaissance Man

Why this Diary?

I thought it might be an interesting exercise, as much for myself as anyone else, to keep a diary of my interests and activities in the land of the blockchain and all things crypto, so I’m going to give it a go at writing a short diary entry each day for the current month, November 2021. It will give me something to look back on and assess and it might offer up some entertainment and topics of interest to anyone who happens to read it.

The Usual Disclaimer

Please don’t take any of the above as financial or investment advice. It is intended to be nothing other than a little entertainment and information sharing. Always, but always, do your own research before committing your money to anything.

1
$ 0.15
$ 0.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of RenaissanceMan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RenaissanceMan
2 years ago

Comments