"Vinland Saga"- The Unpopular Masterpiece

10 121
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
2 years ago
Topics: Anime

Vinland Saga is an anime that is so unpopular even though it is perfect. Great story, best character development and excellent animations. If you are looking for an anime with a complete package, maybe this one is for you. And now that season two is already announced, I will give you a quick introduction about this awesome anime.

Vinland Saga is a Summer 2019 anime. Maybe that's why it didn't get the popularity it deserves since during that time, Dr Stone and Fire Force were also introduced. Still, despite that, Vinland Saga is the winner when it comes to satisfying the fans since it is the highest-rated anime during that time. Vinland Saga is, in fact, not new. It is a manga series of Makoto Yukimura first published in 2005. But it's not his first work. Makoto Yukimura was known for his manga entitled Planetes, and it also has anime; you may check that out. I watched Vinland Saga anime during it was airing, but I failed to continue it until the end. Maybe it was my regret because after I rewatched it a few months ago. I started to love this anime.

What Makes Vinland Saga So Great?

The Story

You'll never get bored with the story. It's bloody, serious, full of action, and so many mind games. Set in the Vikings era, Thorfinn witnessed the death of his father. To get revenge, he decided to follow the man responsible for his father's death and constantly challenge him to a duel. They are known to be a proud warrior and will not do something cowardly such as assassinating him. The story is excellent. It started pretty simply, but it gets more complicated and exciting as it progresses.

There are no Villains

This is the only violent anime that you are not sure who to consider as a villain. Even Askeladd, the person who's responsible for the death of Thorfinn's father, can't be called villain. In fact, he is the most compelling character in the story. He does dirty works, but he also did great, especially in the last episode. I should hate this man, but I can't. His character is well maid, and I respect it. Probably one of the best-written characters of all time.

Character Development

This is the reason why you should watch Vinland Saga. The character development is just unbelievable. This is the story of Thorfinn and his revenge, but some essential characters shine better than him. First is Askeladd; he turns from the most hated character to the most loved. Although he does awful things, you just can't hate him. Another is Prince Canute. The development of this character is the best I've ever seen. He was introduced as a coward, but in episode 18, during his breakdown, he changed into a more solid. This is the kind of development I want to find in some anime.

Seinen

Finland Saga is the Top 4 Highest Rated Seinen anime in MAL. It is an excellent achievement since not all Seinen anime can get high scores. Seinen is much more violent and mature because the adult is their primary target. But not all Seinen has excellent stories like Vinland Saga. They are just known for fanservice. That's why being a Seinen makes Vinland Saga great anime—satisfying the adult viewers while maintaining their interest in the story.

I'm so excited to the next season. Season 1 is just an introduction, and I want to see more of Thorfinn's character development. I hope it would be as great or even better than the first one. And I also hope people will start to notice this anime. It would be a waste if it were left hidden. This is precisely the anime that you need. So let's give it the popularity it deserves. For now, just check the first season out and let's wait until the next season arrived.

14
$ 2.92
$ 2.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JZA
Sponsors of Rekkuu_Official
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
2 years ago
Topics: Anime

Comments

This series was epic no matter how you look at it. I don't get why someone said it was unpopular. I love this type of historic anime. Of course we just came out of the Moe era, so you need a waifu to be popular nowadays.

$ 0.00
User's avatar JZA
1 year ago

I haven't watched it yet because I still have a lot of anime to watch on my list. But I will try to watch it because I am interested in fantasy and it is already listed in my note.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah I finally found someone that also has interest in Anime. I have loved Vinland Saga since it came out but I always wondered why it didnt get enough attention I am glad to see that there are people like me that appreciate this amazing anime

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting anime, hope to watch this soon, thank you for sharing it to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will like to get this as soon as possible

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to watch this soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay anime at read! Old animes are way far better than the ones sprouting nowadays ... More often those animes have a sentence length title... And yes vinland saga is amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, Vinland Saga is totally under the radar when it comes to anime, Even Redo of Healer did better than it. It has a great story, amazing fight scenes, and animation. Great characters I wonder why it is not top ten by now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next target to watch

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!! Great story man... Maybe I add this in my watchlist

$ 0.00
2 years ago