Osamake: RomCom Where Childhood Friend Won't Lose (Is it a Good RomCom?)

1 120
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
2 years ago
Topics: Anime, Analysis

So recently I've been catching up to the latest episode of Osamake. I left at episode 2 last time to focus on other anime. It is one of my Final Pick this season because honestly the first 2 episodes seems fine and the title is a good clickbait perfect for those who are tired in "Childhood Friend Curse". There is a trend in any RomCom (or even just Romance anime) where the childhood friend is the one who always get rejected by the main character. Some popular example of this are; Onodera from Nisekoi, Tsubaki Sawabi from Your Lie in April and Naruko Anjou from Anohana.

It becomes normal in most RomCom Anime that I find it becoming more cliche and boring. That's why I get excited about Osamake because I thought It would finally offer different taste in RomComs. So what is this anime all about and how it differs from other RomCom.

Quick Summary of the Story

The story started with Sueharu Maru who already decided to offer his heart on his "first love" Shirokusa Kachi. Although Maru likes her for a very long time, he can't gather all his courage and confess because Kachi seems to be a popular author and TV celebrity that the difference in their social standing is just too far.

But an unexpected day happened that puts Maru to his greatest regrets as he learned that his first love Kachi was already dating her fellow celebrity and also schoolmate, Mitsuro Abe. Fallen into despair and heartache, his childhood friend Kuroha Shida who secretly loves him, offer a suggestion of taking a revenge. They decided to work together and pretend to be a couple. How will this work and who will Maru choose? Will it be his first love or his childhood friend?

What I like about this anime?

Osamake has its own good characteristics that's unique from other RomCom. The fact that the childhood friend should have won in episode 3 is already a big achievement. Kuro might be the winner and I won't complain with that. I am Team Onodera in Nisekoi so I'm tired of seeing childhood friend getting rejected by the person they love. I won't support unrequited love to the person who deserves to be loved. Give us an ending we all deserve.

Another thing that I like about this anime is how pretty the heroines are. Shiro has a very beautiful long black hair with the face of tsundere. But the truth is she has a soft heart when it comes to Haru. Kuro on the other hand has a short and blonde hair and I love her Clover leaves hair pin. She is sweet and caring but very bad at expressing her feelings. And also there is Momo who look like a younger sister model to Maru. Cute and very useful but Maru only see her as a little sister. They have their own personalities but their beauty is definitely one of a kind.

What I don't like about this anime?

Except from the gorgeous characters and the chance of childhood friend winning the heart of main character there are also some aspects that I don't like about this anime. And that is the personalities of every character. I don't like how they think or what they do. And their decisions are very annoying. I just find them stupid and cringe.

  • Sueharu Maru - is the combination of Ichijou Raku's popularity anong girls and stupidity of Kazuya Kinoshita. He is popular because he was once a child star. And that is also the reason why I don't like him. He can easily befriend several girls but can't even confess to the person she loves. He even hurts Kuro without him realizing. I don't know if he is just dumb or stupid.

  • Shirokusa Kachi - I don't really get her. Why she even pretend to have a boyfriend just to make Maru jealous. In the end it backfired her because it only makes Kuro and Maru closer to each other. Sometimes I like her but there are times that I find her annoying.

  • Kuroha Shida - She's cute but I don't like how manipulative she is. I get it that she is the only one who can understand Maru the most. But first pretending to be a couple, and later on she also pretended to have an amnesia. It just sound so wrong to me. She can also won and end the show in episode 3 if she only said "Yes".

  • Tetsuhiko Kai - I used to love every wingman in every RomCom anime but Tetsuhiko is so secretive that I hate him. He has so much secrets and always meddle in the relationships of Maru. He says he's neutral and always side in something that interests him. But I think he is just being selfish.

Aside from character's bad personalities, I also don't like how cringe when they do some performance. Their school song and dance battle is so cringe that I almost skip the episode. Thankfully it makes me laugh on the confession part at the end. It would be even better if they animate it properly. Trust me they can fo better. For now I hate it when they perform something. I can't take the how cringe they are.

Is it a Good RomCom or Not?

For me it's a No. There are so many much better RomCom than this out there. You'll just get annoyed by the characters in this anime and the story is not exceptional at all. It is very generic and can be predicted easily. I am really disappointed because I thought this will be a unique RomCom with different kind of twists in story. Maybe I just overestimated it because of the title.

It is still worth to watch though, because there are time that it can be wholesome. And of course if you really are a big fan of RomCom and can't find something to watch then Osamake is great choice. Just don't expect too much.

Sponsors of Rekkuu_Official
empty
empty
empty

Thanks for Muse Asia partnership, you can watch this series on YouTube for free. Support the anime by watching it on legal site. You can also subscribe to their channel so that you can be updated on their new uploads.

Watch it Here: Osananajimi ga Zettai ni Makenai Love Comedy

7
$ 2.31
$ 2.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Rekkuu_Official
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
2 years ago
Topics: Anime, Analysis

Comments

Ang Gaganda lagi ng mga sulat mo about anime 😍. Habang binabasa ko parang nanunuod lang rin ako haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago