My Top 10 Anime for this Decade

10 51
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
3 years ago

13 days left before 2020 ends, so it is the time to share my Top 10 Anime for this decade. It is a really hard choice for me because almost all anime between 2010-2020 are worthy to be in this list. This is all just based on my tastes and opinion so you can just shares yours. Maybe I have to rearrange soon, but for now it is just what it is.

The anime in this list caught my attention not just because of animation or story but also the life lessons that you can get from the characters or from the story itself. I don't care about epic fight scenes or overhyped characters, as long as the story delivered the message properly and pierce through the heart of the viewers. Then that anime is a masterpiece. And also take note that I didn't include the reboots in this list because they are already masterpiece from their time. Example of that is;

Hunter x Hunter (2012)
Dororo (2019)
Fruit Basket (2019)

I talk too much. I know you'll just skipp the first part and scroll right to the list XD.

My Top 10 Anime for This Decade

10. Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan)

Just like I said, I'm not a big fan of action anime. Although I like to watch them, I can't just put them to my favorite anime list. And attack on titan is one of my exceptions. I love their motto "Dedicate your heart!" and the symbol of their logo "Wing of Freedom". The animation, characters and story is just a bonus point. The true treasure of this anime is the lesson of bravery, leadership, dedication and heroism. I also like how they tackle the important issue that we are facing in the world right now, the Racism. Although the conclusion on how to resolve that issue is still unknown, lets just wait until the story is finished.

Year: 2013 Genre: Action Military Mystery Drama Super Power Shounen

9. Anohana: The Flower We Saw That Day

The story of Anohana is truely a masterpiece. The characters are relatable and the emotions in this anime is heartbreaking. I like the message of forgiveness in this anime. Especially forgiving your self. The backstory of every characters is beautiful. And that ending, is really painful. Even just trying to remember it gives you heartache. The animation accompanied by its background music and that OST, it stabs you deep down at your soul. I am starting to get over exaggerated so lets just MOVE ON to the next list.

Year: 2011 Genre: Slice of Life Supernatural Drama

8. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru (My Youth Romantic Comedy is Wrong as Expected)

Now it's all about Pride and Self Love. One of the best Rom-Com Drama in anime. The story is somewhat realistic and the character is very relatable (especially Hachiman). The character designs is beautiful. Voice acting is precise, especially that rap battle part, its hilarious. The ending is perfect, although I feel bad for Yui. But still that character development and peotic dialogue. Its something you'll be looking for any Rom-Com Drama anime.

Year: 2013 Genre: Comedy Slice of Life Drama Romance School

7. Made in Abyss

“Deep within it, the Abyss creeps into your mind. Eventually, it’ll get your body as well. Unlike the curse from the 6th Layer, those don’t manifest immediately. For every expedition, you’ll stand at the precipice of death and insanity, twisting the skin off your head.” – Ozen. This Dark Action-Adventure anime is a masterpiece. I like the principles of expedition unto the unknown. Every characters utter deep but meaningful words. I also love the world in this anime, full of unknown and unexpected. The imagination of the author and artist for this anime is unbelievable. As you watch this anime, you'll realize that you are getting pulled by the story. People usually overlooked at this anime because of its cover but little they did know that the true gem is hidden in a crappy treasure chest.

Year: 2017 Genre: Sci-Fi Adventure Mystery Drama Fantasy

6. Mushishi Zoku Shou

Second season of Mushishi. Just like its prequel, this anime is truely one of a kind. That beautiful and full of life adventure is the best. The story for each episodes holds an important message in life. Its beautiful to witness different life story and adventure for every episode. The main character is the best. But the one that caught my attention the most is the breathtaking animation and aesthetic designs added by soft and beautiful sound effect. It goes well with mood of this anime that makes it perfect. Although I'm kind of dissatisfied at the ending but I know that the message of author is that Mushishi Ginko (the main character) will forever be at his adventure in our hearts.

Year: 2014 Genre: Adventure Slice of Life Mystery Historical Supernatural Fantasy Seinen

5. Shoujo Shuumatsu Ryokou (Girl's Last Tour)

It's my personal favorite manga. The anime ending is not that good because its not really the ending in the manga. But started from Yuuri said this line "If they'd preserved food instead of making weapons, our lives would be so much easier." I know from the bottom of my heart that this is the anime I've been looking for. The message of hope and joy of living despite of dark, messy and post apocalyptic world makes you think that, why would someone wants to end their lives when somewhere in the world there are people doing their best just to live. If you have this kind of thoughts I will gladly recommend this one. If they just adapted the manga until the end, this maybe at the same spot as the anime in number 1 list.

Year: 2017 Genre: Adventure Mystery Sci-Fi Slice of Life

4. Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (Your Lie on April)

Lets just move on from hope and living stuffs. This one is all about losing your passion. Losing your passion is like losing your life. This anime gives a great overview on how to regain your passion by just having a motivations. For example family, friends and just like in the anime He found a special person that he chose to dedicate his passion just for a hope that one day his feelings will reach through her. This music, romance and drama anime is the top romance drama genre in this decade. The sound effect is expected to be beautiful but the animation and story is unexpectedly gorgeous. The ending though it... (Just kidding no spoilers).

Year: 2015 Genre: Drama Music Romance School Shounen

3. Gintama°

Haha. Why would I forget Gintoki when he is my avatar picture here in Read.Cash. Of course its not just because of favoritism that Gintama is on 3rd Spot. This is a 2015 sequel of Gintama and here's the reason why it is my top 3. We all know that this anime is a god of comedy genre. But this sequel is the best. From comedy, the story switched to action and drama with beautiful unexpected twists in plot. I really love the shogun arc, it shows different emotions that you'll never expect from a comedy anime. If you have time to spare and want some good vibes. You can check this anime out.

Year: 2015 Genre: Action Comedy Historical Parody Samurai Sci-Fi Shounen

2. Violet Evergarden

The most latest in terms of released date in this list but deserve at my Top Spot. That 13 episode series is full of emotions that I can't even describe in words. The life story of Violet Evergarden is beautiful. I didn't even expect that the expressionless and acts like a doll Violet will develop all throughout the story after meeting different kinds of people and their life story. The scenes where Violet cry makes me tear as well. Its just the animation and SFX is so well executed that you can even feel the emotion of Violet Evergarden.

Year: 2018 Genre: Slice of Life Fantasy Drama

1. Steins;Gate

Its been 3 years already since I've watched this anime but still none can take its number 1 spot (atleast for me). I'm a science guy and this anime is perfect. I can feel the sacrifice and suffering of Okabe Rintarou as he is stucked between saving the girl she loves or his childhood friend that always support him. His time adventure is very refreshing and the story is just perfect that you can't find any loopholes. Definitely the best and must watch Scifi anime. "Deceive your other self. Deceive the world. That is what you must do to reach the Steins Gate. Good Luck. El Psy Congroo. - Okabe Rintarou".

Year: 2011 Genre: Sci-Fi Thriller

Honorable Mentions:

  • Hyouka

  • Fate/Zero

  • The Great Pretender

  • Promised Neverland

  • Jujutsu KaisenThe

  • Death Parade

  • 91 Days

  • Vinland Saga

  • Re:Zero

  • Seishun Buta Yarou wa Bunny Girl Senpai no Yume wo Minai

  • Tsuki ga Kerei

  • Kanata no Astra

  • Angel Beats

  • Kimetsu no Yaiba

I don't know if you can agree with me. We have different views and likes in anime. And my purpose is just to share my best anime of the decade and give you a recommendations and insights for this anime that I love.

Fell free to share your thoughts and opinions.

Can you give me a like? It's a challenge to get perfect screenshots 😅

Other Top 10 Article

Top 10 Post-Apocalyptic Anime (My Best Recommendations)

Top 10 Mystery Thriller Anime Series (You Must Watch)

8
$ 3.25
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Rekkuu_Official
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
3 years ago

Comments

I've finished watching Steins;Gate. One of the best animes I've watched. Probably, I'll write a full review about that. I'm currently watching Steins;Gate 0.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wahhh, some name of your top ten is not familiar to me, except AOT, HXH, Anohana and YLIA, I w already watch those.

Hyouka, Promised Neverland 5his one is one of my best, seriously I need second season of this 😩, Vinland Saga this one too I watch this one just few months ago and it's good too, Tsuki ga Kerei I love the ost of this anime I even download it on my phone and that Kemitsu No Yaiba.

I have a lot on my list that I think is good, top 10 is not enough lol. One of them is Haikyuu, I just finish watching this.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You should try Violet Evergarden. I think you'll like it based on your comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saw that a lot on fb bit haven't tried looking at it. 🤔 Maybe I should try it 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't watched any in the top 10. And steins gate is one in my watchlist ever since. Gonna watch that list if I have time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I highly recommend mushishi and violet evergarden. Your eyes and soul will be blessed by visuals and story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll finish your list of mystery thriller first. I wish I have free time. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is not related on your topic but I'm just curious that's it's not exlcusive and your article was posted 14minutes ago. Is there a problem about exclusive content? Im newbie here and I tried my first article to published but 1 hr ago it's still not exlcusive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think there is a problem. I even saw some authors with the same issue. But I think Read.Cash will fix it soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so. I'm newbie here that's why im so curious. I tried to publish two article but it's not EXC.

$ 0.00
3 years ago