Superstitions Every Good Friday

5 119
Avatar for Reclusexantho
1 year ago

Before I continue with my main topic, I just want to apologize for not replying. I don't know what happened to my account. I can't open and read all the comments. Am I the only one experiencing this issue on the platform? Did I do wrong that I am restricted from commenting?

I can see in my notifacation that someone commented but when I opened my article there is none, as in zero. I checked my old articles and the problem is the same. I thought that maybe the comments was just deleted, but it wasn't. I chatted my acquaintance and a friend here on readcash, but according to her, she can read all the comments on my articles, which means it was not really deleted. She even sent me screenshots. I just hope that this problem is addressed soon.

By the way, because today is Good Friday, I remembered the superstitions that elderly do during this day. I'm not sure if it's the same with the other places. All I will mention are just superstitions that I usually hear from the elders here in our place, Bicol.

It is said that there is nothing to lose if you follow it, but as I observed nowadays it is not done much especially by young ones. We have been influenced by modern technology that the old traditions are gradually being forgotten. Science is also entering the discussion of each tradition, they will look for a scientific basis before you step or act on something. This is also where intelligent people will appear to question your beliefs. Sometimes it gets complicated when science and religion are mixed. But I believe behind science there is God. The world is so intelligently made that science can properly explain it, it is precisely because God is so intelligent that He made it.

Taboos and Superstitions every Good Friday

  • You are not allowed to eat round fruits. According to elders, you will have lumps in your body if you don't follow. It's funny to think about it, isn't it? But as I get older, I realized that maybe they just said it for the young ones to sacfrice not to eat those delicious fruits during Good Friday. This is a day of fasting so that we people can also feel the sacrifices of Jesus for all of us by not eating a lot.

  • It is also forbidden to eat delicious meats. Same reason as I mentioned above.

  • Temporarily stopping work to mourn the death of Jesus on the cross. As Catholics, we remember and respect Good Friday, the death of Jesus who redeemed us from sin.

  • Having a party is not allowed. Since this is a day of reflection, avoid partying and drinking. But nowadays it's the opposite, when it's holy week then family gather to go to the beach because it's the only time off from work.

  • It is also forbidden to hold bolo, especially when it reaches three o'clock in the afternoon on Good Friday. I don't know the real reason behind this superstition. But maybe to avoid us from any accidents. It is said that Good Friday is close to disaster, just like the day of Jesus' death.

  • Do not take a bath especially after three o'clock in the afternoon. Like the previous reasons, this is also a sacrifice. Experience the heat and suffering as experienced by our dear Jesus.

Those are just some of the superstitions I remember. Are the superstitions I mentioned the same in your place?

Post Note

It's April 07,2023!

Hello again my dear readcash family. How was your day? I feel sad today for no apparent reason. I'm not sure if it's because the surroundings are quiet in commemoration of Good Friday. Well I hope it's just like that. I don't want to add to my stress in life that I can't tell anyone, not even to my closest friend.

Have a blessed Good Friday to all.

Thank you for reading. ☺️

@Reclusexantho

*Lead image from Unsplash

3
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Jeaneth
Sponsors of Reclusexantho
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Reclusexantho
1 year ago

Comments

There are some people who follow and do believed in that. But I still respect them as it is part of their holy week.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you get wounded on a Good Friday, it will take a year to heal. How about a wounded heart? Char. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wag lang good friday maheart broken haha. Kung may balak makipag hiwalay hintayin na ang Easter Sunday baka swerte yan😁. Ngayon ko palang nakita tong mga comments kya sobrang late reply na, kung hindi pa ako nagbukas sa ibang browser.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ito ba yong problema mo na di makakita ng comments?

Kaya nga eh, pighati ang wounded heart. 💔🤭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahah wag mo munang aawayin kapag holy week kasi. Bati bati muna.

Oo hindi ko makita lahat ng comments kahit kaninong article. Mukhang pinaiwas muna ako ni read sa kakamarites dito mula noong mag holy week. Ngayon ko palang sinubukan magbukas sa ibang browser. Nawala pa man din yung seed phrase ko sa kabilang browser haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Matagal nang hiwalay sissy. I value my peace. Hahaha

Nakoo, may naipon kaba don? Sayang naman. I save mo seed phrases mo sa notes of sa email mo para balikan mo nlng in case.

$ 0.00
1 year ago