My First Time Cooking

8 35
Avatar for Rasheedah
3 years ago

There is an old say in my family. A woman is ready to marry once they learn how to cook clean for there husband. That was the tradition of my mom where she grew up, where the women always clean, cook, and take care of there junior once. But in today society why cook especially if MCd is right around the corner in the city. Where the food we eat can easily be prepared by another person and order through a drive-thru.

My family come from a small town where the tradition was for the men to go farm and cattle in the small town in Mexico and the women will only stay at home. But since we moved to America almost 25 years ago everything changed for the second generation in my family. My mom of course would stay with her old trained and try to use what she learned when she grew up. But of course, it would be different because of everything change. My mom has 7 kids and I was the 4th one, I grew up following my two sisters because my older brother was always getting in trouble with the law and pretty much always bumped heads. At my younger age, I always see my mom teach my sisters how to cook. My mom of course made delicious food and had a very old recipe pass down from generation of her parents and grandparents. I notice when my mom would leave my sisters in charge she prepares us food sometimes mom's special change. Which was sometimes close to what my mom's food tastes like. I had another older sister named Griselda who never liked cooking she would always watch TV or was busy with homework when my mom would try to teach her some of her receipts. I would always hear my mom getting mad yelling and telling my sister to stop being lazy and learn how to cook instead she would make her clean when she did not want to learn. Sometimes my mom would start talking highly about my other cousins of mine who did all the cooking in my aunt's house. My mother would rub that into my sister telling her to look at your cousin she knows how to cook and does all the cleaning for your aunt knowing that she is tired compared to you, you don't know nothing is she better than you?" she would ask her that it's compulsory.

I remember this one time when I saw my mother making my favourite dish which I loved "Tostadas de tinga" They are my favourite meal my mom made. I asked her what is the recipe? I loved it when she made this dish. I notice that my sister Griselda was at the leaving room watching TV like always and my mom was cooking I enjoy watching her looking at her waiting as I would pass by the kitchen asking her is it ready yet? My mom would smile when I asked, she took pride in her cooking. My mom then asked me if you want it to be done come help me shred the cheese needed and began telling me how it goes what are the ingredients needed. to make my favourite dish. She would tell me the precise time the meat needed to be there. she was teaching me how my favourite dish was done. While learning how to do this my mom told me you might as well learned. if you get married your husband will be happy with you, in these days like your sister that don't know how to cook she would make her husband broke buying y'all food going to the restaurant every other day. Here, daughter, she laughed and was happy that someone would learn her dishes.

So that was the first time I had cook beside my mom she would teach me a little bit more of her recipe. Which was very important to her to pass down to her daughters a tradition who was taught by her mother and my grandmom. But in my family, am a daughter that love cooking.

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for Rasheedah
3 years ago

Comments

thank you so much for writing this beautiful artical

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for your comment, I really appreciate

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow great you should learn cook properly girls have to learn cooking

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course, girls are meant to be in the kitchen and take good care of the family

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post and great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There were a lot of mistakes when I first cooked. Everyone makes mistake.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
3 years ago