Welding practical at school today.

2 20
Avatar for Rasaq
Written by
1 year ago

August 11th, 2022.

The measuring and marking out procedure.

It's been a while I've been active on this awesome platform. Apparently, I've really missed you guys. I posted a short update on my timeline earlier stating that I've been less active all because I have to get some things done. Now, let me let the cat out of the basket; the sole reason for me not being active on this platform was that school activities haven't been friendly to me in the sense that I've always been busy with my academics you know, to attend lectures, comprehend what the lecturer is teaching and be able to read and solve assignments, it isn't an easy task to do, which on the other hand, I think it's very important to engage in them so I can achieve my desired goals.

Earlier this week, I wrote about some practicals we did at school which entails visiting our mechanical workshop and identifying some important machines present there and their uses in performing some operations. Today also turned out to be a practical day too. We were taught some lessons on how to cut out metallic work piece materials e.g steel and also on how to join them together using some welding instruments which explains their term called welding.

The first lesson we were taught on getting to the workshop stated that: "SAFETY SHOULD BE YOUR FIRST PRIORITY" which means we have to prevent anything hazardous to our health mostly on our skin, which can't be achieved unless we take to the following safety measures;

  • We should always endeavor to put on our safety wears which includes our well sown and covered laboratory coats, safety shoes, hand gloves, and safety goggles ( which must be so thick and dark just to avoid direct contact of the eyes to the molten substance present in the welded materials )

  • We shouldn't engage in any form of horseplay in the workshop

  • And the last safety measure states that we should always ensure to read and follow instructions guiding a particular material or instrument before laying hand on them for operation.

Also, we were taught how to identify some measuring, cutting and welding tools present in the workshop, which some of them includes;

Measuring and Cutting tools

The cutting out procedure
  • Hack saw

  • Steel rule

  • Chalk ( necessary for marking out readings )

  • Measuring tape

  • Tri-square

  • Plier

  • Chisel

  • Hammer

  • Centre punch

  • Rubber mallet

  • Snip etc...

While,

Welding tools includes;

The welding procedure
  • Tongs

  • Electrodes

  • Also hammer ( for tapping out carbons on the welded materials )

  • Earthing materials ( which entails it's machines cables and rods commonly used for welding )

We really had a blissful moment in the workshop today as various lessons were learnt from the practical, we also now seem to have some idea about things we've been ignorant of. I think those absent today at the workshop seems to have missed something very crucial.

Oh, I forgot to speak about the other aspect of the practical. As blissful and enjoyable today's practical was, guess what guys? It was so hectic and stressful. We stood for hours and most of us kept ranting about being tired and hungry but the joy of the sparkling light from the welded materials often cheer us up thereby making us to forget our body aches.

Here comes the final product below. A STOOL.

Like I always do, I took some pictures of the workshop and its entities as it might help me to comprehend better when it get to studying them.

*******************************

Trust we all had a great day just like mine? Thanks for reading and I would love to hear out comments below here👇 Also do ensure to like and subscribe to my timeline if found helpful.

Bye for now and don't forget to take good care of yourselves.

4
$ 0.51
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Offset
Sponsors of Rasaq
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rasaq
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

In every workshop practice, certain precautions must be taken to avoid hazard in the workshop

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely. It's important to be aware of that always

$ 0.00
1 year ago