Work from home during pandemic

3 45
Avatar for Raq
Written by
3 years ago

Hows that sounds? Awesome, right. Yup, you heard it right. Working at home on your pajamas, without needing to dress "corporately", unless you're in a zoom meeting 😄. This is the new norm work set up during the pandemic, homebased jobs basically doing the task using the internet and of course with your pc or laptop, earning at the comfort of our homes.

I know how everyone has been affected during these trying times. Many have lost their loved ones, family, friends, jobs, non essential businesses has been shutting down to follow the mandatory protocol of the national government locally and the whole world. As of now, businesses has started to bounce back. Thank goodness.

How about those people who had been laid off from their job? My husband is one of the hundreds of thousands OFW who were repatriated because of their company closure. Up till now, no updates from their employers as to when they will resume to work.

As I was really worried on December last year that we have this global pandemic, every country has started restricting tourists in and out. It came to my mind that China is one of our neighboring countries, Chinese come in and out of our country . There's so much possibility that we will also get inflicted by covid-19 virus. Unfortunately, number of cases rises has been recorded daily until we started lock down last mid March.

It seemed that everywhere was ghost town. No people seen walking around not unless you will provide a Quarantine Pass to authority who watches respective borders. You just can't simply go out unless for the need of buying your food and other essentials.

I wonder what will happen to us now, my husband has lost his job a month after the lockdown. Emergency funds and savings are not enough til we get back to working in uncertain time. The world had stopped, but not the expenses. We need income, but how?

And so this how I started looking for a job online. Without going out and of risking our health and still potentially earns.

I joined every freelancing, work at home, homebased job on Facebook groups that I could search of. But unfortunately, no one dares to hire a newbie like me. I got hired as CSR in a BPO company homebased set up, but didn't push through because of health risk not getting enough sleep during the day because I have a son that needs to be taken care of. I always feel sick the whole day so better not to continue.

There was a friend who was in an agency for freelancer, I bravely submitted my CV and failed twice. On my 3rd application, finally able to pass the interview. As they say, the rest was history. I got the job as a Virtual Assistant. They have sent me these training videos that will help me familiarize and learn the job however not enough compared to the real tasks.

I got a client who will sells on Amazon US marketplace, who was also a newbie in e-commerce business. I really feel double hard time since no one will guide and teach me what to do at first day. I utilized Google and YouTube in every questions and list of HOWS. I watched YouTube tutorials for hours on how to do this and that. I followed and subscribed to YouTubers who are in the same game.

As of this writing, I am able to provide for our everyday expenses and monthly bills for over 6 months. I continuosly look for clients for side hustles. Yes, most works on freelancing are temporary. It is best when you have multiple clients. Currently, I have 4 clients for my work part time.

Patience, hardwork and resilience are really keys to Freelancing.

During these hard times we are all facing, don't lose hope. We are in this together and hopefully the vaccines for covid-19 will be available soon so that our lives will go back to normal.

Be safe and healthy.🙂

Thanks for reading.

6
$ 5.31
$ 5.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Raq
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Thanks guys and nice to meet you @ Pat8135 @ muhammadzeb007 Posting relevant article soon. 🙂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Raq
3 years ago

hey @Raq reading this content compelled me to subscribe right away as I am excited to read more of your input especially the new normal after this pandemic. I am still teaching here in the Seychelles and it seems that the country is not much affected with Covid due to less affected locals who went overseas for a trip. Likewise working from the comfort of our homes without the hassle of getting up in the morning sounds empowering to me actually. During my one year maternity leave haha I enjoyed my time only the most. Looking forward dear of your write up especially more on financial aspects! and Oh I am also investing in the stock market in our country. Haha the trend of the market (either crypto or stocks) are getting crazy! woots.. see yah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good news

$ 0.00
3 years ago