How to make money as a writer during crisis.

5 20
Avatar for Rancher1
3 years ago
Topics: Writing

As a writer, you need to know what the #1 thing is that clients are looking for during this crisis. 

It's not writing skills. 

Yes, writing skills are really important. (We’ll talk about exactly what writing skills you need and how to get them QUICKLY…)

Here’s what clients want to know about you before they’ll pay you money…

I’ll tell you about something funny that happened to me the other day with my daughter Eve. Eve is 5 years old.

Bursting into my room, breathless, she jumped onto my lap. 

“Daddy! Daddy! Daddy! You know that thing…” 

She stopped. Her face screwed up in deep thinking. Her enthusiasm suddenly transformed to consternation and uncertainty. 

“You know that one thing that Enoch had. What’s it called? Oh, I can’t remember!” 

I smiled.

“What are you trying to tell me? Can you describe it to me?”

“Well, its that thing that Enoch was using when we were playing the other day… you know… that ONE thing… “ 

I laughed. I had no idea what she was talking about.

“Ok, Eve, Daddy needs to get back to work and I don’t know what you’re talking about. When you figure it out, come back, ok?”

She slinked out of my office, sad and obviously dejected. 

I couldn’t help her, sad as it was.

She didn’t know what she wanted and wasn’t clearly communicating with me.

This little experience is playing out thousands of times each day with writers. 

I work with and coach thousands of writers.

They are uncertain about so many things:

  • Who they want to become

  • Their niche

  • Their writing skills

  • The value they bring to the table

  • How to find clients and get paid

It was the uncertainty of my daughter Eve that prevented me from helping her. 

It is this internal, personal uncertainty that prevents writers from being hired. 

(ooohhh… BOOM… read that one more time and savor it… it could change your life…) 

Marketing directors, social media managers, and business owners are dealing with a lot of fear and stress right now. 

They need someone who is sure and certain and solid.

Certainty Factor #1 - Personal Identity

A writer that knows who they are and what they are striving to become in life is the #1 number one hiring trigger. 

When I sit down with a new writer, I ask a few questions… stuff that I know will dramatically impact their ability to make money as a writer

Imagine I’m sitting with you and we’re in a coaching session. Write down your thoughts and insights to these questions… 

  • Why did you get into writing? I mean… what is it about this industry that inspires you? 

  • Describe your ideal lifestyle to me. Why is that important to you? 

  • How much money do you need to make for that lifestyle to be a reality? 

  • If I asked your mother or lover or best friend to describe your superpowers - both personally and with your writing skills - what would they tell me? 

  • What real value and solutions do you bring to your clients? 

These are not simple questions.

(Don’t get stuck on “Hey, right now I just need to survive… see past the moment and the crisis. See bigger because it's out there for you!) 

To do that, you need to reach deep and face the extraordinary! 

My assignment for you today is to get certainty in your life, if you don’t already have it. 

Start by doing some deep thinking about the questions I asked you.  

That kind of confidence is exactly what will make you stand out and be attractive to people looking to hire writers right now. 

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Rancher1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rancher1
3 years ago
Topics: Writing

Comments

Its so helpful article my dear.❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My pleasure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🤸

$ 0.00
3 years ago

$ 0.00
3 years ago