My Karma returned to me so fast

8 37
Avatar for Rancher
3 years ago

It took me about three weeks before he finally agreed to our meeting. For the sake of professional courtesy and my persistence, he decided to grant me an audience.

I didn't want to give up easily. Everyone has been beaten hard this 2020 and personally, this meant a lot to me and I didn't want to lose it, so I was ready to try everything humanly possible. My meeting with him was for 11:00am but by 10:15am, I was already waiting in the reception area.

I anxiously crossed my legs and put up a facade of confidence. I noticed the secretary was feeling a little bit uneasy in her chair and looked pale, despite her beautifully made up face. I struck up a conversation and asked her what the matter was but she told me it was nothing.

After some minutes, a colleague of hers came out from an inner office and they were discussing in whispers but I managed to hear some of what they said. She had stained herself and needed a change of clothes. She was sick and on medication so it affected her flow. She never expected it.

She wanted to rush home and back to the office but she had no money for Taxi. Even her colleague didn't have enough when they checked the amount.

This was where I stepped in.

I couldn't leave their office as I was waiting for my appointment with their boss, so I offered to book Taxi for her and take care of the cost. She hesitated at first but her colleague nudged her and she accepted my offer.

I told her to make sure the Taxi driver won't end the ride when she got home. Since she won't waste time, let him keep it running, change destination and return to the office with her. She was super grateful.

Some minutes after she left, I was called in for the meeting. Immediately I sat down and exchanged pleasantries, the man wasted no time in repeating everything he told me on phone.

" I told you this your proposal can't work. I can't sign this for you because I've promised this to another person and he paid much. Unless you're willing to pay more than him. I like you and that's why I'm being open with you and even agreed to this meeting. If not, you know me too well."

I thanked him and we talked about random topics about our profession, tech, business, politics and other things to engage and soften his mind. After about 30 minutes in conversation, I raised the issue that brought me to his office again and he reaffirmed his stance.

When I saw he wasn't going to change his mind, I put back the documents in my envelope and continued to chat with him. When I got notified the Taxi has returned to the office, I bid him farewell and went out to pay the driver and head off.

His secretary thanked me greatly for footing her bills and asked why I looked moody. I briefly explained everything to her and she smiled.

"Give me your file and come back to the office with me."

Without argument, I gave her the file and followed her like an obedient sheep. I was already tired from the back and forth talk I had with her boss.

When we got back in, she told me to wait at the reception and she went into the man's office. About 10 minutes later, she came out smiling.

"He has signed the documents. You can proceed with your plans." She said.

I didn't know what to say or how to react. I thanked her profusely and apologized for not asking her name all along.

"What's your name, please pardon my manners."

She told me there was no need for me to know her name. My kind gesture was all that mattered and it spoke volumes for me.

That statement moved me deeply in my heart. I briefly went into the man's office, thanked him and came out. I offered to buy the secretary lunch whenever she wished and she agreed to take up the offer when next we see.

Her words have remained evergreen in my heart and I shared this experience because of that.

With your good deeds, doors will be opened for you even if you're the son of a nobody. Generosity and kindness opens doors.

And this is a story worth sharing with your friends, so they'll learn to pay it forward and invest their good deeds in our collective humanity.

Till we get to the Promised Land, I shall be waiting for when you will pass me a glass of water and thank God for the gift of grace for the race.

10
$ 2.49
$ 2.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Rancher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rancher
3 years ago

Comments

Great dear I have subscribed you dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was very nice to read the article very nicely presented...🌺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy you loved it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good one. Please read my article as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will

$ 0.00
3 years ago