What is this obsession with PUBG?

16 60
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago
Article # 53
Date: May 26, 2022
Thursday

Before starting with today's topic guess what happened? Yesterday I published the article "I would rather" in which when asked "No mobile or no internet" I said I would go for no internet because even without internet, mobile phone can be used to contact someone specially during an emergency. After publishing that article, a few moments later internet facility was cut off in my area because of some Political protest that is going on in my country these days.

So for almost 20 hours I had neither wifi nor mobile data. I would still prefer no internet over no mobile phone, but life with out internet is really boring. You can't use WhatsApp, Youtube, Read.cash or Instagram. It feels more like your hands are cut. I would pick my phone repeatedly with the hope that wifi might be working but it didn't. It felt like I have nothing better to do than to wait for wifi. So yes, we have gotten so used to internet that life without it seems incomplete like there is something missing.

Anyways, starting with today's topic, have you guys ever noticed that this generation has become extremely obsessed with the famous game PUBG?

Lately I have been noticing this a lot. As you guys know that I have changed my phone. While I was searching for good phones on internet and watching videos for phone reviews, one thing that every reviewer discussed was that either the phone is PUBG supported or not? What is with this game that people now prefer to buy only those phones which are PUBG supported?

I have never been a game lover. Although in my childhood I often used to play simple games to kill time like Spider solitaire, Santa Claus in trouble, Chicken Invader, and Plants VS zombies. Or sometimes I would enter cheats when my brother played GTA Vice city. But I never got addicted to any game ever. There were many games like Commandos, GTA etc that were the obsession of many people in different times but the level of obsession I have seen among youth these days is just strange. They have even made YouTube channels related to this game.

Even in my family, all the time I hear my cousins having talks about levels of PUBG and how to complete them. Like seriously don't you guys have any other purpose in life beside talking about this over-praised game?

Usually boys are more inclined towards games and stuff. According to my observation, most of the girls don't have this in their nature. But the strange part is there is no discrimination of girl or boy when it comes to PUBG addiction.

I often have seen my cousins playing it,and by the looks of it, it seems quite a boring game and that's what I said to my cousin and she went like:

This is exactly what I used to say, but wait till you play it, you would really want to take these words of yours back then.

Then there is another cousin of mine, whenever I visit him, I find him lying on the big couch in the same posture, playing PUBG, with earphones on and talking to his friends, and often yelling when he is about to fail in game. Initially, I didn't know that we can talk to our partner while playing game, so once I saw my cousin talking, and a thought crossed my mind. Guess what that thought was?

I think he has gone mad because he's talking to himself.

Closing Thoughts:

I sometimes thank God for keeping me away from this time wasting and health deteriorating menace. Playing games is healthy for your mind, but when you indulge yourself completely in games, it affects your health badly. It results in poor eye sight and loss of appetite as well. Besides many studies have shown that individuals who get addicted to such games, start living in the world of these games or in other words, they start living in fantasies. With the passage of time، there is this gradual increase in depression which often leads them to suicide.

So you can imagine how dangerous this obsession with games can get. For this, we must educate those around us to try to end this addiction or else it can have severe consequences.

Disclaimer:

Every word written in this article is my own and doesn’t involve similarity to someone else’s article. This entire article is checked by Grammarly and is plagiarism free.

Thank you for reading this article! Stay happy & blessed!

Lead image is taken from unsplash.

7
$ 0.78
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.04 from @Naqeeb-01
+ 6
Sponsors of Raheela
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago

Comments

In my case I used to play COD (Call of Duty) and I could really say that playing games for fun is very relaxing not when you get addicted to it. That's where the problem starts. Too much is dangerous to our health. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes playing games for entertainment is good as I said, they really sharpen your mind but getting addicted to them is bad. Thank you for dropping by by the way!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup...its obsession is very dangerous...its my personal observation🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are you obsessed with it too?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If one is only using games for entertainment and time waste and is indulging more than 1 hour in it than it's not a good choice. Infact if they are so much addicted to games they should try to make content or try entering in competitive that way they can at least feed their stomach even playing games. Otherwise giving more time playing games is a waste of talent and effort.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, waste of time and health as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Obsession is getting out of control for this game. Our neighbour Islamic country where government banned this game but still people over there are using it through vpn. Lmao

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Once it was banned here too. By the way speaking of PUBG how is your little sister 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmao badly absorbed in it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She is the one I pointed out in my article haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

PUBG game has addiction. Thank God who saved me from this addiction more. Sister this game is so heavy sometimes we are yelling during our sleep. And many incidents happened in my country also. Son Shott his parents after playing PUBG game etc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's exactly what I was talking about. These games often cause mental retardation. May God protect us all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen... He will protect us and our kiddos from the worst condition of these games.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel sorry for you, dear, for the interhet problem. We also experience power outages from time to time. Then there is the internet, but there is no phone where the phone is out of charge. This is very boring and bad. I would like to say a word or two about the Pubg issue. I have never seen people get so addicted to a game in my life. Small, big, husband and wife, almost everyone plays. I witnessed one, he would play pubg for 13-14 hours without interruption. I was shocked to see him. And I've never played pubg.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have never played it and don't wish to either. My cousins do the same, they play it all the time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not a good situation at all. any form of addiction is bad

$ 0.00
1 year ago