You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.

0 6
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

I came across this quote by C.S. Lewis which say;

"You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.” 

And this word called my attention to some weird behaviours and attitudes most people showcase when they are getting old in life. As nature made it, people tend to feel weak and drop their zeal to pursue greatness when they begin to get old in life, they feel it's not necessary any longer to keep pushing achievements and greatness in life because physically their body strength and health may be getting weak and failing them, fear of the unknown like death at any moment maybe setting in their minds and put them off from being able to think out new ideas, pursue new dreams in life and greatness during their old age.

Let me use the ordeal that I had with my father who is in his early 70ths as an instance, when I came to visit him in the village, where he relocated after he retired as a civil servant, we were discussing his retirement plans since it's obvious he was surviving and living with the money he receives from pension company that pay him as a retired government worker, and this money he gets every month from this pension company is not really enough for him to solve his personal needs and other problems in the house, so when I came to see him, I asked him what his plans were considering the fact that his pension salary is not enough for him, I asked him if he has any business in mind he can venture into so I can offer some financial assistance since he complains the money I gave him is not enough with the one he receives every month.

After I finished what I was saying, my father looked at me and said, my son, I don't think I have any business in mind to do at this my old age, I don't have the strength to run around the stress of any business, and besides, you my child should be the one providing for me and taking good care of me in this my old age. Of a truth, when he finished his statement, I got confused and upset with his reply. My reason for getting angry is not because he said I supposed to be providing for him since he is retired now, but reason for getting angry is because he has accepted defeat in setting another goal or pursue a new dream that can still add more value to his life than where he is now.

He has failed to give himself another reason to experience new thing and new beginning of purpose. Remember that our inner mind and brain is ever young and ready to create new ideas once you give it a try, though your body maybe weak and not fragile to run, not strong enough to do things you were able to do when you were young, but your mind can go as far as creating ideas that can change the world even as you are in your old age.

Sponsors of Rafd9828
empty
empty
empty

Most great achievers we know in this world did not look at their age, they didn't allow their old age stop them from achieving anything they want in life, the only factor that can stop them in life is death, even in their sick bed, they can still be fighting hard to survive and maintain their status and keep their ideas going.

No mind is old enough to quit thinking out new ideas each day.

No brain is incapable of achieving greatness in life if been put to try.

No age is too old to stop pursuing greatness in life so long as your mind and brain is still intact, even if you are bedridden and can not move around, you can still dream and make your dream come true.

And nothing is impossible to achieve if you give it a chance.

So my dear friend, I left my village back to the city and I will be going back again to have a second time discussion with my father to make him understand that he can still achieve another goal in life if only he can accept, believe and give it another chance. I believe this time, he will get it right.

You too can get it right my friend, you can also give that person sitting next to you that feels it's over in his or her life hope, a chance, and an encouragement that can change that person's believe of accepting defeat to become strong enough again to make it right.

Thanks for reading my article 🙏 Rafd9828. I LOVE YOU ALL!

2
$ 3.64
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Comments