Oh Nigeria @61!

0 13
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Do I need to celebrate today or still keep crying for the wickedness and so much atrocities in the land? What are we celebrating for? The pain in my heart can not be overemphasized. I couldnt allow my emotions and heart feelings to say a congratulatry message to this country called Nigeria. It's as if the dark spirit has taken over the land. Pains, agony, tears and sorrow has become the food and water we eat and drink everyday.

Sixty-one years of independence still the country can not find it's way. Everyone in the country is suffering and smiling,  the country's unity have been shattered by bad eggs who have turned the country into an arena of gladiators who kill each other without mercies or respect for sanctity of life.

My heart is so bittered and my eyes covered with oceans of tears. Where do I run to? Who do I go to for help? Everybody is confused and can not clench to any tree for support. Today is 1st October and the government of the day is celebrating their 61years of independence from the colonial masters which are the great Britain, but the streets of the capital of the country are filled with protesters calling for the president to resign, while other states the citizens are at sit at home order protest clamouring for their own country Biafra in the eastern part of Nigeria.

Now I want to welcome you my friend to Nigeria where integrity is a taboo.

I want to welcome you to a country where house rent is higher than the government civil servant monthly wages and salaries.

I want to welcome you to a country where they pay you fifty thousand naira (#50,000.00) as your salary and your child's school fees in the university is up to (#300,000.00) three hundred thousand naira.

I want to welcome you to a country where a bag of rice is higher than the salary of 60% of citizens who depend on monthly salaries for a living.

I want to welcome you to a country where you pay tax on every payment of bills you make in form of VAT( value added tax) and your tax money are used for other things instead of using it to bring development and cater for the well-being of the citizens.

I want to welcome you to a country where criminals are celebrated and the heroes are jailed and even killed without any remorse.

I want to welcome you to a country where the president of the country openly and repeatedly said he is not aware of what is going on in the country he is the president.

I want to welcome you to a country where you pay tax and they still go and borrow money from other countries of the world and yet the money they said they borrowed can not be accounted for, no social amenities, government schools are on the verge of extinction.

I want to welcome you to a country where hoodlums and people that have been identified as terrorist sponsors are working as ministers and senators in the present government administration and the graduates are seen as taxi drivers and okada riders.

I want to welcome you to a country where voices are silenced and when you  raise your head to talk, the security personnel will trail you and arrest you and intimidate you to stop talking.

I want to welcome you to a country where when you critise the government and their system of government, they tag it as hate speech and come after your life.

I want to welcome you to a country where if you are a politician and you serve in government as an office holder in the country and you are found with corruption case, once you change to the ruling party, your sins are forgiven.

I want to welcome you to a country where when you are honest they will kill you but if you keep covering them up with lies you are saved.

I want to welcome you to a country where the government does not have value and regard for the poor masses. All they are after is the national cake that must be shared for their own selfish gains.

I want to welcome you to a country where the government of the day is been begged to proscribe the terror group of killer herdsmen and armed bandits who go about killing the citizens and destroying properties as terrorists and the government of the day is still giving it cold feet to the demands of the people representing the citizens at the state and federal house levels.

I want to welcome you to a country where the common language of a sitting president is always I will bring the perpetrators to book each time an attack is been lunched to its citizens and yet the perpetrators still go about their killing business without any arrest.

I want to welcome you to a country where the futures of the younger generation and the yet unborn are mortgage to too much external debts and fund borrowings from foreign countries.

I want to welcome you to a country where we celebrate our own slavery into the hands of our own people who claim to be in the same one Nigeria with us but yet they hold unto power as if they are the only people in the country.

I ask again my friend, what are we celebrating? God has blessed this nation with everything more then every other countries of the world, still we are still living in dark and suffering so hard.

Oh Nigeria! Where did we go wrong that we have used our hands to mortgage our future to these evil men who have taken the leadership and the affairs of this country that was once great before?. I am so pained in my heart and I am so bittered. May God help us all!

Thanks for reading my article 🙏 Rafd9828

Sponsors of Rafd9828
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.75
$ 0.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Comments