I drank with a broken cup.

0 8
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

You never took me as your own, I was thinking I had you as my godfather and that you will teach me how to fish but no, you left me to my Fate. Now that I have found my way to my destiny all by myself without you, you decided to sound as if I never wanted to respond to your chat, indeed you have made me realised that I drank with a broken cup!

In life you have to find that true friend who for real will stand by you through thick and thin, who finds it difficult to sleep nor rest when he knows that you are not alright and must make sure he does all within his power to assist you fix your worries.

When you have that person as your  friend who always call you just when they need your service or help and after that they will pretend as if they never met you, know it that you are drinking with a broken cup.

I have this personal experience with someone I thought was my true friend and a godfather. Let me share it with you so you will learn from my story and do your best to always know who is your true friend.

I met a Priest and we became friends during my university days, because I was a band leader in my band group. One day we were having a music concert and I was performing with my group as their lead vocalist on stage, he came for the concert and saw me, because of the way I was singing he decided to ask for my contact from one of my group members and there he got my contact, I got a call from him after the program ended and we booked an appointment to meet.

Sponsors of Rafd9828
empty
empty
empty

When we met he said that he would like me to be his god-son more like a son because he was much more older than me, also I should see him as a friend who wants to help me make the best out of my life, I was so excited because back then in school I was finding it difficult to survive in school due to lack of finance. So after our meeting he gave me some money and food stuffs to go back to school with. From time to time he will call me and ask me how my day went and that I should come to his parish and perform in his church program with my crew which I did. As time went on, I was helping him out with the programs and other assistance he needed from me which were within my power to do for him as of then, because he had connections and contact with highly placed personalities in the government and other wealthy men in the society, he was travelling and meeting different men in the country and beyond, so he called me and told me that I should not worry about me getting a good work after my studies from the university, he made a lot of promises to me that once I graduate and finish my one year national youth service to my country that is either he put papers for me to travel out of the country to further my studies or he will make some calls to his connected men so they will give me a job, so I should not worry about anything.

The promises were overwhelming and so I was excited and promised myself to make good grades in my finals so I will not have any reason not to be assisted as he promised me. When I graduated and served my country for a year and was out, I called him on phone and he said I should bring my curriculum vitae (CV) to his office which I hurriedly did and was patiently waiting for a call from him for a positive responds.

All of sudden I began to notice his cold feet towards me, his attitude started changing, picking my calls was now a difficult thing for him to do, when he picks, he gave me excuses that he was busy, and will call me back. I waited for one year, two years and three years no response, during these years I was waiting I tried to know why sudden change of attitude towards me from him, but he didn't give me any good reasons for his weird actions towards me. I decided to go to his parish to pay him an impromptu visit and when I got to his house, he apologised to me and said I shouldn't worry that he will do something for me soon, I was surprised when he asked me to give him my Résumé the second time and that got me worried, I asked me a question. What happened sir, I thought you have my CV father, he breathed heavily and said, he does not know where he kept it. Because I always go about with my CV, I gave him another one and also sent it to his mailbox, and went back to my base.

After sometime I called back and he sounded angrily towards me and asked me not to call him again that he will be the one to call me. So I waited for his calls but he didn't call me back again, so I moved on without waiting for him again. Years later I struggled and hustled to survive and with the help of God, I was able to start up little with fashion business because there was unemployment rate in the country and so I decided to start a small scale self-employed business which was fashion business to change my story.

I was surprised some days ago to see his comment to one of my pictures I posted on WhatsApp status, I didn't know he still had my phone number after 8years of not contacting me, he said I am really looking good and forgot to talk to him or chat him up.

When I saw the chat some days ago I was so angry and kept silent thinking on the responds to give to him for what he did to me. Even now I have not been able to respond to his message.

I have learnt to stand tall, change my world and make it without anybody. When you hope on people to make you stand you will end up falling, try your BEST and do all you can to stay positive and believe in yourself because if you keep hoping on people's promises you might end up drinking from a broken cup.

Thank you for reading my article 🙏 Rafd9828

1
$ 0.63
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Comments