All I needed was a listening ear!

0 6
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

On that fateful day she called me on the phone and told me to come and visit her at her place, although I was having a busy day at the office, I told her that I am not chanced to visit her at the moment due to my work. I could hear her disappointed voice as she cut the call on me.

Later in the evening when I closed from the office I drove straight to her house. Reaching to her place I knocked at her door and she opened and went back the the sitting room without saying a word to me, I immediately began to explain to her the reason why I couldn't leave my work to come and see her when she requested my presence.

As I was talking to her she stood up gently, ignored me and went straight to her bedroom and locked her door. I waited and waited for her to return so I can continue what I was saying. Some minutes later she couldn't come out of her bedroom, I called her name several times and she didn't respond to me, I became worried and called her mobile line and she couldn't pick my call and after a while, a text message came to my phone and there she said to me " please I am not in the right frame of mind to hear or discuss further with you over what happened earlier today, I needed you around me and all you could do was to value your work and yourself more than me, I know you are the owner of your business and you have other workers under your payroll that works for you, you couldn't at least managed to come and see me to know why I wanted you around, now you are here to explain what to me I ask you? Please just leave my house before I call police on you"

At that moment I began to ask myself what could have been her reasons for having acted this way towards me?, Did something happen to her? Did anybody offend her, or was it just a way of showing me that she is not happy with what happened earlier today? All of these were going through my mind as I left her house back to my apartment.
I called her on phone several times and texted her but she didn't respond to me nor returned my calls. After I had my dinner and I dozed off to sleep.

The next day I called her on phone and she didn't pick, I went to work, during my lunch time I went straight to her house after I couldn't get to her on phone, when she saw me coming into her place she quickly jammed her door and refused to open the door nor respond to my calls to open the door for me as I pleaded to her. I waited for some minutes for her to at least hear what I wanted to say to her or even to hear from her the reason why she is taking this too far. All of these effort I made were fruitless as she refused to give me a moment of her time to hear whatever I wanted to say to her. After so many persuasions and push for me to reach her could not hold, it was dawned on me that there was more to her actions that meets the eyes.

I stopped pushing and decided to give her space she was really using indirect way to ask from me, days, weeks and months passed she refused to call nor allow me to see her again, so I decided to move on with my life.

Due to the nature of my work and how I wanted to expand my business to other states in the country, I decided to open a new branch of my business in another state and because of that I left my house to establish the new business  and that made me to stay for more than 6months away from home. After 6months passed I came back to base because I have finished establishing the business.

One fateful day as I finished preparing my documents to leave for the office, I heard a knock on my door and immediately I opened my door and there she was standing and staring, I asked her who she was looking for? She said she wanted to see me so we can discuss, I hurriedly picked my files and told her that I was late for work and there will be no need for that due to my busy schedule at the office. I left at once to my car and drove off.

In the afternoon when I was about going to have my lunch she came to my office for us to discuss, so I asked her to join me so I can hear what she has to say to me as we have our lunch. When we were having our lunch she began to apologize to me for her actions and the way she treated me. I kept quiet so she can finish what she came to discuss with me, when she concluded her story, I told her that I am not really interested in what ever she has to say and her apologies because I couldn't understand her reasons for shutting me off without giving me a little chance to explain myself to her. It's over 6months ago we had issues and you are coming now to explain your reasons for acting weird and childish towards me.

I told her that I am no more interested with the relationship and it was best we all move on with our lives and immediately she began to cry and left in tears.

Sponsors of Rafd9828
empty
empty
empty

LESSON TO LEARN

Most of us have one way or the other shared in this experience and have found themselves in such situations of life. Because of little issues that one should not allowed to cross the next day between the two spouses, most relationships have been torn apart, broken and dissolved.

Why should you not give your partner a listening ear so that he or she will explain to you his reasons for his or her shortcomings?

It's important in life to always have this thing called benefit of doubt in your mindset when you are in a relationship with your spouse, give excuses and always put yourself in the shoes of your partner.

Always learn how to iron out your differences and issues with your partner  in a manner that will not create negative vibes and misunderstanding in future.

No matter the situations and challenges that comes in your relationship, always give room for dialogue in time and don't wait till ages before you discuss your reasons for your action.

Finally, do not act childishly to the level of forgetting to recognize that the person in relationship with you has his or her own self-worth, self respect and personal interest to protect. He or she may not have the patience to with for so long.

Thank you for reading my article 🙏 Rafd9828.




2
$ 2.28
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
Avatar for Rafd9828
2 years ago

Comments