'What ifs' are the worst

0 18
Avatar for Raah_hi
2 years ago

I came across Beeple's story again yesterday. I knew about him and his digital art but forgot for a while, and then yesterday again I came across it. 1000 art pieces in 1000 days remind me of Nas Daily as well.

Nas Daily did 1000 1 minute videos in 1000 days as well. And, If I am not wrong then Gary Vee too did something of the same kind. Gary created and uploaded a video almost every day for about 5 years.

To highlight the fact that none of these people had any professional video-making crew or a script ready for what they were going to do. They just had an intent that they went after. Gary knew about wine. Beeple wanted to be an artist even though he was really bad at it. Nas Daily just wanted to make videos. Talk about his ideas, questions, and curiosities in 1-minute videos.

The rest is history. None of these people need an introduction anymore. They are all very well known in their own fields. They are all masters of their domain. And how they got there? In one word diligence. Beeple has been making a piece of art every day for 13 years and hasn't missed a day!

They set a goal for themselves, didn't care about how the world would react, and just went after it with everything they had. Most importantly they gave it their full attention and time needed. If they would have thought about 'What ifs' none of them would have made it through. Forget about reaching the heights.

They all made it because they made a commitment to themselves and stood by it in all adversities. No excuses.

Come what may, if they want to do something they do it.

This is what even I would like to do. I started to write regularly on 14th May 2021. I decided to write 1 article every day since. One here on read.cash and one on my blog alternatively.

So far, I have made it to writing most of the days. Not every day. But in case I miss a day, like yesterday, when I wasn't feeling so well, I compensate the next day. So today I will be writing 2 articles instead of one. Just to keep my promise to myself.

Now I don't know how good am I at writing, but I do know that I want to get better at it. Writing is my calling, if I may be so bold as to say that. And if 1000 videos and 1000 works of art worked for Nas and Beeple respectively, maybe 1000 writeups will work for me. So since I started on 14th May 2021, on 8 Feb 2024 will be 1000 days complete. I just have to make sure to deliver a minimum of 1000 write-ups until then. Deliver to whom? Well to myself of course, and may even you if you want to be a part of my journey. It doesn't matter where I write, it doesn't matter how I do it, just matters that I write.

My only problem is that I also want to write on my Instagram but I am too scared to let the people I know, know that I write. All kinds of 'what-ifs' come to mind when I think about it.

The major two being
1) seen differently
2) given constant criticism

To clarify, I am not afraid of criticism, just that it's too exhausting when constantly imposed. Also that I don't want any feedback from some people that I know personally in life and this is my way of avoiding getting any from them.

It's easier for me to make conversation with strangers and to take their non-biased feedback (mostly since they don't know me personally) rather than take it from someone who knows me personally and refuses to see me as a different person. Perception bias maybe? Is that a thing?

Is it just me who feels this way or are there more like me?

Either way, I really do want to write on my Insta. I know that it will only take me one post to get started and get rid of all the what-ifs from my mind. Just one post. So maybe today is the day when I stop thinking and start acting?

Start a new count of 1000 days for Insta as well? Here's hoping

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Raah_hi
2 years ago

Comments