Isn't maturity overrated?

3 30
Avatar for Raah_hi
2 years ago

When I was 10, I soon wanted to be a teen, when I was a teen, I thought of myself as a mature person and always wanted to be seen as someone wise and someone that you can go to for advice.

And, anyone that I saw around me playing pen fight or talking like kids about cartoon and video games, as in, precisely according to their age, I thought wasn't cool. This is also the reason why I was never attracted to anyone my age for the longest time. Always a couple years older.

Strange, not strange, well it's perspective. It was what it was.

Recently, I noticed I started getting interested in all kinds of animated series. This is at the age of almost 29. I was always into animated movies, but series wasn't my thing . Actually, I was getting interested in magical, dragon based, and sci-fi movies this time. This reconnected me with my child self.

I used to believe in magic, and I believed dragons to be real. It was a beautiful time when I saw the world with wonder and was hopeful about all that was about to come in future. I was an optimistic kid.

For some reasons that I cant even recall anymore I lost my belief in magic, dragons, and so on. I became an adult. Not just by age, but also by my beliefs, actions, and choices. However much I looked at life from a fun perspective, I stopped doing so. Nothing was magical for me anymore.

I don't mean glitter and glowing things, I mean, nothing that inspired awe. I think education did it's trick and I had lost connect with the true me completely.

But I'll tell you what, now that I am starting to reconnect with myself, my true child self, I can't even begin to describe how much fun life has become. I think this is exactly why people who talk about creativity always say that a creative adult is the one whose whose inner child is still alive.

I finally understand why I wasn't happy at any of the jobs that I have done so far. I finally know what makes me happy, and what will make me happy. I know the places where I can explore and build a life around.

Reconnecting with my younger self is the best thing that could have ever happened to me. I hope you find reconnect with yours too...

5
$ 0.14
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Raah_hi
2 years ago

Comments

That's a good thought

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If maturity is overrated is hard to tell..I'm born old never had a childhood and in some way I never catches up but I do watch animations. 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what do you mean born old?

$ 0.00
2 years ago