Between Light and Darkness

0 20
Avatar for RDMoy
Written by
2 years ago

Previous Chapter: The Blue Girl

Light, a blinding light that invaded my whole being, so intense that you could almost touch it...

Darkness, a deep sleep, where there was no sight, no hearing, no smell, no touch, no taste...

Light, an incandescent light accompanied by a repetitive sound that was already disturbing my eardrums...

Darkness, an intense numbing sensation, as if I had been asleep for years...

Waking up, and seeing my mother's face, aged from crying...

Sleeping, re-entering the emptiness of the darkness I already knew very well...

Waking up, seeing a familiar face calling my name, placing light in my eyes, and saying "her pupils react"...

Sleeping, to be disconnected from pain, from anguish, from fear, but also disconnected from love...

Waking up... This time I recognized the familiar face, it was Dr. Arreaga, checking my signs and verifying several devices with screens around my bed, "Hello princess, how are you feeling?"

My mother was also by my side, but I couldn't read her expression, her face radiated happiness, with a very wide smile, but her eyes were very red and puffy, as if they had cried until they were exhausted with tears.

"I feel fine, thank you," I said to the doctor. I reached out my hand to touch my mother, and stopped instantly. I noticed my hand was different, thinner and... redder?... "What happened?" I asked the doctor.

"You were asleep for several days," said the doctor, "something happened shortly after the surgery..."

Surgery?... Surgery! I remembered, my mind was activating its memories little by little... the doctor was the same one who had operated on me with an "open heart"... and my hand... my hand was no longer blue.

The doctor continued "You had a problem one day after the operation, we had to put you to sleep to control it, you spent two weeks in that state, but it seems that the rest is paying off. Everything indicates that you are in clear improvement..."

"Can I go home now?" I asked anxiously "I want to see my little brother..."

"Wait princess, the fact that you have already woken up does not mean that you can go out, we have to observe you for several more days...".

In those extra days of my visit to the Hospital, I met many people, my parents helped the nurses in my therapy. I had to relearn many of the physical activities that in my ten years I was used to doing such as walking, sitting, lying down. It was amazing how my body after two weeks of sleep had forgotten those things, but it relearned very quickly. I also had to get used to the crack I had in my chest after the operation. But what I never got used to was the army. There was an army of doctors and interns interested in my case. I never understood it.

Two weeks later. My family moved into a studio apartment near the Merida airport, two blocks from the hospital. I love the climate of that city. Its geography is located in the middle of the highest mountains in the country. Its people are so friendly. I love Merida.

My visits to the hospital were constant, first every two days, then every five until after a month in the new apartment I was discharged. My heart and my new scar were apparently fine.

When we returned to the small town where we lived, everyone was excited about my story. Many brought gifts, many cried with joy and many more were surprised by my story. Going back to school was not difficult. Everyone already knew my situation. I was the girl who lived, no longer the blue girl.

Years later, I got a job as a teacher's assistant in the city of Barinas... That motivated me to pursue a career as a preschool teacher. I achieved my goal and spent several years educating dozens of children. I was happy among them. I loved educating the youngest people.

One day I was with the children and I started to feel agitated, I had a feeling that I didn't know or... I didn't remember...

My memory took me back years... it was an irregular throbbing in my chest... it was tachycardia... I tried to calm down but the feeling wouldn't let up and then the dizziness started, and the dizziness led to pain and pain led to fainting... I had had my second cardiac arrest. Suddenly I jumped into the darkness again... and just a second away from the ultimate blackout, I prayed to God that my eyes would see the light again.

N0020.2021-11-16.

Pictures from pixabay.com

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for RDMoy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments