Death Anniversary

0 16
Avatar for RAIZYREESE
2 years ago
Topics: Family

It's been 17years since my mother's mom departed.I still remember how painful it feels because I used to stay with them when I was young.Every school break I would spend it in the farm.I guess that is the reason why my body clock ticks too early.

Spending vacation with my grandparents every summer has left a lot of beautiful memories for me.(Iba kasi yung discipline during their time,yung ramdam mong mahal ka nila kaya ka nila dinidisiplina.And hindi fear kundi respect yung dahilan kaya we listen and follow their house rules).Early to bed early to rise.My Lola(grandma) cooks as early as 4 in the afternoon,by 5pm dinner is served and 6pm is for my Lola's novena time.Before 7 we should be in bed to sleep.At 4AM you can already here utensils in the kitchen,Lola is preparing for breakfast.I will also wake up early and join Lolo (grandpa) extract milk from his carabao,harvest fresh fruits from trees around their house.Staying in the farm is so relaxing and everything is fresh and organic.We can even sell fresh fruits and vegetables harvested from the farm,carabaos milk too.

What I love the most is breathing in clean air, enjoying the view of the field.When rice is harvested and the field is dry we freely play,flying kites, tumbling on the hay, running in the middle of the field with my cousins.This is where I also learn to climb trees though I have the fear of heights.When I am in too high place as I look down I will start trembling and felt nervous.So for me to lessen the fear,I avoid looking down as much as I can.A lot of beautiful memories was created in my younger years every summer vacation.I loved the simplicity of life in the farm,so farm from stress of school days.

Everything shattered when my grandma died.It really feels different when it is the mother that leaves the family first.Yes it seems like I lost a mom.It was so painful.I even skipped my class for a week because of what happened.I am graduating then and our final exams is scheduled,but I didn't take the exams on time.Good thing my teachers allowed me take special exams when I am finally OK but not totally fine emotionally.It takes years before I totally recovered.And from then on I didn't spend summer in the farm.We just pay grandpa a visit every weekend if we have time.

Snack time.We brought with us our own tent.Seems like a picnic haha.
The beautiful sky

So this afternoon we decided to visit grandma's tomb in the memorial park.My aunties and cousins are also there,we bring foods and candles.Have some chitchatting about life and stories from yesterday's memory.Mostly memories of my beloved Lola.Her favorite foods, favorite lines,her do's and dont's during her time.I don't wanna sound bias but the love we really have for our mothers is different.It is too deep and sincere.Maybe because we can feel the unconditional love they can give.A mother can sacrifice even her own happiness just to make her kids and husband happy and satisfied.

My youngest

So here is my youngest, enjoying our visit in the memorial park.I keep on chasing after her because she is walking around as if he was in a playground.My eldest daughter is already busy playing with her 2nd cousins.It was just a short while but I am happy for the little talks and reminiscing the memories of my Lola.How about you guys,how do you deal with death anniversaries of your departed lovedones?Well I know some with different beliefs doesn't pay a visit to departed lovedones right at the very moment they send them to their last destination.

________________________

It's Friday today so happy weekend everyone.I and my family with visit my in-laws in Tarlac tomorrow.Praying for our safe travels.My sister wanna come with us.She also wanted to visit in Tarlac before they will head back in Laguna.

________________________

Lead image: Unsplash

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for RAIZYREESE
2 years ago
Topics: Family

Comments