2days Spent in Tarlac

4 16
Avatar for RAIZYREESE
2 years ago

Happy weekend guys.I hope everyone had a great weekend.My family spent our weekend here in my husband's hometown.I don't know why but it seems like my recent posts are not that catchy,but still I will try my best to publish articles until some will pay attention and take time to read.I also don't have any sponsor.I think something is still missing on my recent articles LOL.But as they say try and try.Sooner or later I can be better.

Feast day

It is St.Joseph feast day March 19.Unlike the usual festive celebration,this year is a simple thanksgiving.The people of San Jose prepared less food than the usual.The fiesta here in Lapaz Tarlac is same day celebrated in our Barangay in Pampanga because we have the same patron.But my mother doesn't cook and invite colleagues.She treats it as an ordinary day since the day her mother passed away.Plus the fact that she is too practical.Preparing a festive table in a day is not enough to measure one's faith and belief.And it is pointless to feed a lot of people in a day and being left with nothing the next day,or worst is having debt just to have something to serve with visitors/guests.

So my husband decided to take a day leave from work so we can head home to his hometown.We traveled from 5:00am to 7:30am using a tricycle.Along with us is my sister from Laguna with her son,they wanted to visit places they've never been before so they come with us.

The moon guided us along the way.quite blurry because I captured this while the tricycle is moving.I am in the backride.

As we travel the kids gets hungry.They didn't like the bread and biscuits I prepared.We passed by a Jollibee drive thru and ordered food to ease their hunger.I just ordered yum burger for me and my husband and 1piece chicken joy meal for the kids.So we arrived safe by 7:30am.When we arrived breakfast is served,rice,fried dried fish, fried eggs and fried eggplant with fried rice as well.

Then after few hours of rest we visit some of my husband's relatives to make mano (Filipino way of showing respect to elders).Since it's their fiesta they serve us different kinds of food but we only ate a little since we already had our breakfast.I ate Biko and kapit.

BIKO.Glutinous rice cooked in coconut milk,topped with latik
KAPIT.Steamed batter consist of glutinous rice flour, coconut milk and sugar.Topped with creamy yema sauce and ground peanut bits.

This is one of what I usually missed here.A lot of food is served.Their specialties and how they accommodate visitors.Fiesta is one of Filipinos believers way of giving thanks to their Patron Saint and to the Almighty for all the graces they received all year round.

Later in the afternoon we brought the kids into the park so they can enjoy playing.But the weather didn't let them.It rained while they are enjoying so we urgently ride the tricycle and headed home.

At the park yesterday afternoon

Earlier this morning at the park again.

So early this morning we bring them back to the park,right after we visit the tomb of my in-laws.They played in the slide,in the swing and even in the barracks.They also walked around as if the sun wasn't hot as it touches their skin.We also went to the wet market afterwards to buy viand for lunch.

Abro:Tarlaqueños term for this dish

First time that I ever cooked abro.I cooked moringga fruit before but with chicken and sweet potato.Here they usually cook moringga fruit with other vegetables then they will add fermented fish (bagoong isda,alubebe in our native language) and it tasted better when you add little sourness from tamarind.I also cooked fish Sinigang for the kids.Seldom I do the cooking here in Tarlac so I somehow enjoyed doing it for them.Usually when we visit here they don't even want us to lay fingers in the kitchen or do any house chores.I am happy that they enjoyed the lunch served.Everyone ate a lot to their fullness.

Later in the afternoon we visit my daughter's godfather and our wedding godmother as well.2days was not enough for us to visit all the persons my husband cares for.My husband is treated like a son by almost all of his relatives and neighbors because he is nice to them as well.I am flattered on how they would praise him in his kindness.And I am happier to hear them say he is younger looking now,not directly but it sounds like my husband is properly taken good care of (by me hahaha).Another good job for me LOL.

Anyways tomorrow we will head back to Pampanga because I need to submit my daughter's module.And my husband will work halfday if we can't be home before 7am.

________________________

So this is how we spent our weekend here in Tarlac.How about you guys what did you do this weekend?

Lead image : Unsplash

4
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @MommySwag
Avatar for RAIZYREESE
2 years ago

Comments

Stay at home every weekend. The food specially yung biko ay masarap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you @MommySwag for the upvote ❤️ And yes super sarap po ng Biko,gusto ko magtakehome nahiya nman ako haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naku kung mabait naman sis go lang 😁😁oo nga eh mukhang nasarap sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a very busy weekend. It rained on me and I stayed in the house longer!

$ 0.00
2 years ago