Student Debt, Job Markets And Reflections

0 13
Avatar for R23
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Finances, Money, College, Debt, Student, ...

The Current Debt Climate

As a college graduate to be in just two weeks time, I think it is only right that I take a look at what my future will hold... massive student debt.

The United States now has 1.7 trillion dollars of outstanding student debt, which according to CNBC is a 100% increase over the last 10 years. There have been numerous pauses to student debt payments throughout Covid, but as things die down payments will once again kick into gear and former students will have to fork over hard earned money to cover years of tuition. The average monthly student loan payment is $393 according to Forbes and that is an unwelcome expense for so many working entry level positions.

Post Graduate Job Market

Not everything is doom and gloom however. According to CNBC, employers around the country are hiring around 7.2% more college graduates than they did last year. Depending on what your reasoning was for attending college, this is a motivating and important figure as it can be quite stressful trying to find work in a suffering economy. It is important to be realistic however, as the time spent in college took away time that could have been spent gaining "job experience" that is highly coveted by employers (this is something I discussed in a previous post that is frustrating).

There is no right way to do things nowadays in my opinion. College has taught me I need to find what I like and push to make it my reality; life isn't easy and there really is no blueprint for success.

My College Reflection:

Reflecting on college I fully believe it was a scam. I have met brilliant people, had fantastic times and grown as a human being. However, none of that was actually included in the $75,000 a year bill to pay for my courses. In actuality, students should be getting paid for what they have to do. How ironic is it that I pay all this money to be given work, deadlines, responsiblities and be forced to stay in terrible dorm rooms.

If I could go back and change things I would, but looking forward I will make the best of my experience and hope that the network I have created throughout my time will be worth the years of debt to come. There were brilliant professors and faculty, but I never quite found my niche at the university and often felt disengaged with coursework.

I do believe that you can learn a lot in college, but it is more about helping people who don't have direction to find their calling. To people who have an idea about where they want to go, it does feel as if it is a four year distraction filled with busywork... Perhaps I am cynical, but I don't recommend the experience; I wish it was not something valued in our society.

Links and Connections:

Follow me on Twitter: Rob_Minnick23

LeoFinance/HIVE : rob23

Join me on Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=robminnick23

Join Cake DeFi and get $30 in $DFI as a new user: https://pool.cakedefi.com/#?ref=187314

Noise.cash: rob23

Read.cash: R23

Join me on Publish0x: https://www.publish0x.com/?a=M7e587xqd2

Who I am:

My name is Rob and I am a college student doing my best to get involved in the crypto world. I have enjoyed blogging thus far and thank you for reading my article! Give me a follow and let’s build the community together through consistent engagement.

1
$ 5.80
$ 5.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for R23
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Finances, Money, College, Debt, Student, ...

Comments