Splinterlands Rentals Are Way Too Cheap

0 25
Avatar for R23
Written by
1 year ago

Insanity

I just got assigned a new focus this morning by my 24 hour quest after doing alright with an earth splinter focus. My new focus was fire and so I took to the rental market to see if I could bolster my squad and try to rack up some points.

This is the first time in a while that I have used the rental market and it is just insane how cheap everything is right now. It's almost like getting free cards. I believe that I spent around 7 cents to get 10 cards... That is just pure insanity.

The one that shocked me the most was the cost for borrowing a Yodin Zaku. In the past, I have seen people paying well over a dollar a day to use this beast of a summoner...

For less than TWO CENTS you can rent Yodin for a day... I don't know anything in the world that you can still get for 2 cents other than thing in the crypto world of course, but come on.

A Trade Off?

Well on one hand, this downturn in rental value is a great thing for players looking to maximize the new system and earn as many rewards as possible via the quest focus. However, the fact that cards have less passive income associated with them can be seen as a bit of a hit to the overall value of the market.

I believe that we will eventually see a rebound in the rental markets, but I am a bit unsure as to what the catalyst will be. In the short term I am enjoying the cards, but I know that in the long term my goal is to create a max deck and then rent out cards to others (a very lofty goal financially of course).

What do you all think? Do you like the cheap rentals or do you think it has been a tough blow to the game economy?

Come talk basketball on Dunk Social!

Links and Connections:
Join me on Splinterlands exploring blockchain gaming
Get paid for your search results with Presearch
Follow me on Twitter/Instagram: @ Rob_Minnick23
Hive: @ rob23
NEW TRIBE: @dunksocial
Join me on Torum
Check out Cake DeFi for staking rewards
Bitcoin Cash Apps: @ rob23
Join me on Publish0x to talk crypto

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a financial analyst with interests in cryptocurrency and blockchain. I have enjoyed my time thus far engaging with Web 3.0 and am looking to continue learning more and sharing what I learn through my experience.

1
$ 0.27
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for R23
Written by
1 year ago

Comments