Smart Contract Coding - Every Answer Is Online

0 6
Avatar for R23
Written by
2 years ago

image source

Situation

In the last few days, I have been checking out the feasibility of learning how to code smart contracts and specifically I've been checking out Solidity (the language that powers the Ethereum network). Now I don't really think that I'd want to build on Ethereum, but I think that learning how things are done allows you to have a solid background in understanding exactly where you want to be and where you don't want to be.

I am just shocked at how readily available literally everything you need to know about anything is nowadays. There are of course a few things such as building on Hive or building dApps that are a bit more advanced or novel that don't come with step-by-step guides yet, but most things actually do.

In the last month, I have seen videos that teach you Solidity in it's entirety, videos that show you how to layer and run a script to create 10000 NFTS, videos that guide you on how to code a trading bot, videos that show you how to make your own video game, videos to mine your own Litecoin... There's literally a tutorial video for 95% of the things you can think of doing in this world.

Implication

The democratization of information necessary to build the products and services that you want is the most incredible development of the modern world in my opinion. It is no longer the case that you need to attend 8+ years of schooling to develop the skills needed to pursue your dreams. Of course, there are still certain professions you would like to know that the person did not learn their skills on Youtube for reassurance reasons (i.e. Doctors... "oh yeah I saw this heart surgery on Youtube last week and now I'm ready to perform it"), but there are a ton of things that are making the school system more obsolete than it is already.

In my opinion, the value of school is that you are able to gain knowledge on a topic from someone who has been deemed an expert in that field... But we all know that is rarely the case.

Schools are still the benchmark we have for measuring success and progress, but it seems clear that we are moving closer and closer to schools (namely higher education) being a thing of the past as information is so readily available for free that people are going to get fed up faster than ever before with having to take 8 elective courses for $500/credit.

I can say that the information that has been most useful in my life I have learned outside of the classroom; often that information has been taught to me through Youtube. Colleges are relying on the job market demanding degrees from their employees, but once enough people realize that is total bullshit, we will start seeing colleges becoming a thing of the past.

Every answer (save the few crazy questions and topics) is online. Why is Youtube not seen as valuable when a degree from Georgetown or Harvard is supposed to be? One costs you nothing and one costs you $75,000 a year, black mold poisoning from the dorm room and a slew of ex girlfriends who blocked you on Instagram... Youtube is sounding better by the minute.

Come talk basketball on web 3.0

Come talk comedy on PeakD community - Com3dy Central

Links and Connections:
Join me on Splinterlands exploring blockchain gaming
Get paid for your search results with Presearch
Follow me on Twitter/Instagram: @ Rob_Minnick23
Hive: @ rob23
NEW TRIBE: @dunksocial
Join me on Torum
Check out Cake DeFi for staking rewards
Bitcoin Cash Apps: @ rob23
Join me on Publish0x to talk crypto

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a prospective law student with interests in cryptocurrency and blockchain. I have enjoyed my time thus far engaging with Web 3.0 and am looking to continue learning more and sharing what I learn through my experience

2
$ 0.90
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
Avatar for R23
Written by
2 years ago

Comments