PolyCub - Not Making The Same Mistake Twice

0 16
Avatar for R23
Written by
2 years ago

Image Source
Image Source Article: @finguru

A Year Ago

This time last year, I was showing my friends how wild the returns were on the farms for a new DeFi product called Cub Finance. I had put around $1,000 in (a lot of money for an unemployed college kid) and was in awe as I had doubled it within a few days of having invested. The price of CUB was up huge and I was bringing in more money an hour than I ever had in my life.

Then I basically sold it all and walked away with a little satisfaction as the price came down, giving me the false belief that I made the right decision.

The mistake that I made back then was so clear, yet so difficult to come to terms to when investing in cryptocurrency projects:

I was more worried about dollar value than the project's long term success.

Though the price of CUB still hasn't reached those monumental highs from the beginning, keeping the investment parked over the course of a year and continually earning farming and den rewards would have had me in a better place now than I was then. After withdrawing I spent that money on dumb things like drinks and parties and now I have none of that initial investment left after the year went by.

The mistake that I want to stop making this time around is just as easy to fix as it is to identify:

I need patience.

PolyCub

Not only did I miss out on the CUB that would have been generated over a year (at APR's still around 100% in even the least lucrative farms), but I also did not position myself to benefit from the PolyCub airdrop.

It was a bit of a stretch to think that Polycub would be trading for large sums while CUB still trades for around 40 cents, but even at a ratio of 1:1 you're essentially doubling your money with this airdrop (I know it doesn't quite work like that, but it is a sizeable chunk).

By just holding onto what I had in the past, I would have been in a great position to profit from PolyCub and reap some big gains from the airdrop and subsequent staking.

Moving Forward

Rather than viewing it as a sob story or a regret, I am owning this situation. I made some poor decisions last year, but have learned quite a bit about what could happen if you are patient with a strong project. This time, I have put what I was able to into Cub Finance and Polycub and will be slowly adding more over the next year rather than looking for a 2x and cash out like I did a year ago.

I don't know if PolyCub will end up having the same success as Cub Finance, but it's worth the risk in my book (DYOR). I will be holding on and watching the PolyCub come in even if the short term price heads towards the valuation of a stick of gum, because I really believe that this will pay off long term. I love the xPolyCub system and am interested to see how this kind of innovation plays out on the DeFi front.

Typically when people are doing something that nobody else is doing, it is the start of a great innovation (or a flop, but you can never make it if you don't give it a shot!). I am excited to see where this goes and look forward to growing with the community over the next year!

Come talk basketball on Dunk Social!

Come talk comedy on PeakD community - Com3dy Central

Links and Connections:
Join me on Splinterlands exploring blockchain gaming
Get paid for your search results with Presearch
Follow me on Twitter/Instagram: @ Rob_Minnick23
Hive: @ rob23
NEW TRIBE: @dunksocial
Join me on Torum
Check out Cake DeFi for staking rewards
Bitcoin Cash Apps: @ rob23
Join me on Publish0x to talk crypto

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a prospective law student with interests in cryptocurrency and blockchain. I have enjoyed my time thus far engaging with Web 3.0 and am looking to continue learning more and sharing what I learn through my experience

2
$ 4.92
$ 4.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for R23
Written by
2 years ago

Comments