Ignore Short-Term Misfortune

0 17
Avatar for R23
Written by
1 year ago

I have written about this in the past, but it continues to hold true, you literally cannot time the market. Every indicator, technical analysis, prediction, stock-to-flow chart, etc. will not help you determine what will actually happen in the market.

I literally feel like every cryptocurrency meme that has ever been made because as soon as I purchase an asset it seems to crash 5-10% haha. Well though it sucks to see the USD value changing in the short-term, I have stopped letting it bother me because I am simply investing based on a plan.

The Plan

The only way to avoid feeling like crap about timing the market as poorly as possible is to make your purchases happen at regular and recurring time periods where you let fate decide. Through this dollar-cost averaging strategy, you are able to purchase assets at a variety of values with the hope of finding a lower average cost over time by buying during the ups and downs of the market. Along with getting a different average cost, this strategy allows you to consistently put funds into that asset and allow your holdings to build steadily over a period of time.

Every other Thursday, I make my investments and watch as the price either immediately dips or ticks up just a few points. It doesn't really matter in the grand scheme of things. What matters is consistently getting that investment in every other week and continuing to do that. If I lose 10% over the course of two weeks, then I am purchasing more at a 10% discount and lowering my average purchase cost.

The people that made the most money during the bull run (other than those leveraged like crazy who got lucky) were those who had been stacking up assets at low prices and watching the value blast upwards over a period of time.

I'm no financial advisor and I am most certainly not rich, but I am in the early days of a strategy that I truly believe will yield great results a few years from now.

Whatever you decide to do, do your due diligence in researching it and make sure you stick with your plan. I wish you all good luck and happy Thursday!

Come talk basketball on Dunk Social!

Links and Connections:
Join me on Splinterlands exploring blockchain gaming
Get paid for your search results with Presearch
Follow me on Twitter/Instagram: @ Rob_Minnick23
Hive: @ rob23
NEW TRIBE: @dunksocial
Join me on Torum
Check out Cake DeFi for staking rewards
Bitcoin Cash Apps: @ rob23
Join me on Publish0x to talk crypto

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a financial analyst with interests in cryptocurrency and blockchain. I have enjoyed my time thus far engaging with Web 3.0 and am looking to continue learning more and sharing what I learn through my experience.

1
$ 0.41
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for R23
Written by
1 year ago

Comments