But, you don’t look disabled!

9 72
Avatar for QueerlyDisabled
3 years ago

Yeah, and you don’t look ignorant, so I guess we’re even.

I really hope that someday people learn that just because I have all my limbs and can still (kinda) walk, doesn’t mean I am not disabled. I’m still bad enough that one (because I have two, thanks) of my neurologists and my orthopedic surgeon (who, by the way, is starting to eye amputation as a reasonable course of action) Have both documented my need for a mobility service dog. I have the forms with my HR department and in my dog’s vest. They don’t outline the specific diagnosis, but they document the need. 

My other neurologist has watched my dog alert to an impending migraine. Radar is compensating for the aura I don’t have. He gives me between five and ten minutes to get to my prescription, fast release, pills that mitigate said migraine enough that I don’t go blind and can still somewhat function. That doctor is writing me a letter too. 

Service dogs can alert, assist, and mitigate disabilities of all kinds.

Diabetic emergencies

Cardiac emergencies

Seizures

Psychiatric emergencies

The list goes on. The above categories contain people who don’t look disabled any more than I look disabled, but my need is just as great as theirs. 

I don’t have to prove it to you. I don’t have to tell you what my diagnosis is. I do have to tell you that yes, he is a service dog and he is tasked trained to alert me to an impending medical emergency and he provides balance assistance.

Please, be aware. Disability isn’t always visible. 

17
$ 2.19
$ 2.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for QueerlyDisabled
3 years ago

Comments

Definitely there’s more to disability than just what we see

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, someone could have all his legs and hands complete and still be disabled.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is no greater disability in society, than the inability to see a person as more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You write very right !!! It was a very good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I go through this article but upto now i didn't get the central idea of the story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes you are very good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love your article 😄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great dear I have subscribed you dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago