Peace like a River, Joy like a Fountain

7 42
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

Last Friday I put up an article titled:"Lie begat lie".

This article is a documentary of my decision after the post.

If you haven't read it, you can read it through the link below.

https://read.cash/@QueenRay/lie-begat-lie-ff2aa3f8

I got lot's of comments from my friends here on read.cash that I should overcome my lies after lie by coming out straight to my boss. I made the decision to set things right as I've been advised, I'll like to share with us how it went.

Does lie pay?

Does the truth set one free?

So on getting to work on Monday morning, I was fidgeting knowing fully well what I was about to do.

I went first into my office, sat down for a while not knowing how to go about my apology. I stood up and was going into my boss's office.

When I got outside his door, I retracted back into my office because I didn't know where to start from.

I went back into my office (picked up my phone which I had wrapped in a nylon to be brought out when I get to his office) and went back into his office. On getting outside the office, I went back upstairs to my seat still scared of how to present my matter.

Then a thought came to my mind,

"Why not put it in writing?"

How delighted I was when this thought came. Here's another opportunity to do what I love doing(writing).

I jumped on the decision and started writing the letter mindful of the other staff around me.

After writing I stood up with courage, went down into my boss's office. I knocked on his door, he let me in, I presented the letter and took my leave of his office immediately. He raised his eyebrow wanting to know the content of the letter. But I didn't give room for any conversation as I ran out of the office.

I went back into my office sweating profusely. I'm sure the students knew something was off even as I teach them.

I was waiting to hear from my boss, probably get a query letter but he didn't call me. He even came up into the staff room at a point, my heart bit increased radically because I thought he came for me.

After they rang the bell for close of work, I was about leaving the school, loosing all hope of him addressing the issue, he sent the secretary to me.

She said:" the boss calls for you"

I was all shaky as I left for his office. I stood by the door for few minutes before I summoned courage to enter.

On opening his door, ready for whatever comes my way, I was shocked to see my boss laughing so hard.

Then he said:

"You are tired of playing games"

I replied:

Yes sir!!!

Then he said, sit down I have a story for you.

I sat down wondering what he was really up to...

"You know years ago I was in a state like yours, I was in the University as at then, I was made the Chairman of the Electoral Committee in my final year. As the chairman I oversee the affairs of the body, not to bore you with my story, the political aspirants sold the forms and all funds was handed over to the treasurer. After the body was dissolved and we were told to pay the money into the departments account. The treasurer being in his penultimate year had lots of assignments and came to me for help in depositing the money into the designated account.

I collected it and before I knew it, I had started spending the money. I practically spent all and then the department started demanding for its money, then I lied...

I said I had deposited the money already and probably they've not received the alert, they bought my lie... but the main problem came when I still couldn't refund the money.

So, this is what I'm trying to say, he said, its better you speak the truth all at once no matter how hard it see and let the devil be put to shame

It will save you from lots of stress, discomfort and troubles "

Then he told me to read more about those who lied inthe Bible and the outcome of their lies.

I apologised again in person, he said he has forgiven me, that I should go and sin no more.

I thanked him and left his office a happy person.

How frequently do we hear or speak these words called lies?

After someone says or utter words full of lies we feel either doubtful or outrageous.

Of course, doubtfulness would be completely unnecessary if everyone only speaks the truth. Every time. All the time.

Lies may come in different shapes and sizes. “Little lies” could be just as the way we answer a policeman who has just stopped us over for allegedly overspeeding.

“No, sir, I didn't know I was going faster than the necessary speed limit.”

But lying of every kind has its own consequences. And one of the consequences is what you are experiencing at the moment.

Learn to always speak the truth at all times, no matter how hard.

I remember the popular Christian song 🎵 🎶 🎵

I've got peace like a river
I've got peace like a river
I've got peace like a river in my soul
I've got peace like a river
I've got peace like a river
I've got peace like a river in my soul

I've got love like an ocean
I've got love like an ocean
I've got love like an ocean in my soul
I've got love like an ocean
I've got love like an ocean
I've got love like an ocean in my soul

I've got joy like a fountain
I've got joy like a fountain
I've got joy like a fountain in my soul
I've got joy like a fountain
I've got joy like a fountain
I've got joy like a fountain in my soul

I've got peace, love and joy like a river
I've got peace, love and joy like a river
I've got peace, love and joy like a river in my soul
I've got peace, love and joy like a river
I've got peace, love and joy like a river
I've got peace, love and joy like a river in my soul

This is how I feel now, I've got peace like a river. And joy like a fountain.

I'm on my way to work this morning and trust me, I'm with my phone... No boring day for me again.😍😅🤩

10
$ 0.22
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 1
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

Comments

Nice to hear you told the truth....truly free from the burden. This is a lesson to everyone and a good content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you're finally free from the burden of lies. Now you can go about freely with your phone in hand.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks bro. Its a refreshing peace i have now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy with the decision you took. I am sure you now understand the essence of truth. No one knows the importance of health if he or she did not fall sick. So happy for you ma

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes. I value the truth now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth will always give you peace of mind, that's what Jesus brought into the world, once you accept the truth then you are in for peace and joy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So true. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago