Lie begat lie

24 42
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

On a bright Tuesday morning, I woke up to prepare for work awkwardly because I was told the night before that I should take an off duty permission because I had to follow my kid brother Dave to school(he had just gained admission to the Premier University of Nigeria where I graduated from)

Being the last born (baby of the house as we call him), my dad felt he is too young to travel down to Ibadan alone, since we stayed in Lagos. Well, since I graduated from the same institution and have been postponing my visit to my alma-mata for my Statement of Result(SOR), I saw this as a great opportunity to kill two birds with a stone.

The problem lies in the fact that I've taken all my absential leave from work and knew my boss will have a hard time granting me permission.

N.B: I work in a secondary school as a Further Mathematics teacher, pending the time I'll go for my National Youth Service Corps (NYSC).

Well I summoned up courage and dressed up for work, I left home thinking about how to tell my boss I'll be off duty for two days(Tuesday and Wednesday), even amidst the school's Mid-term test which is ongoing, meanwhile there would be Mid-term break on Thursday and Friday. But because of the urgency of my brothers resumption, we had to leave on Tuesday.

I went into the staff room and made arrangements for my paper which they would have that Tuesday morning. I dropped the questions on my table in the staff room and went into my boss's office to seek permission.

A strong force pulled me into the office, I opened my mouth to seek for permission and then BANG!!! the lie came in the form:

"Hello, good morning sir, I just wanted to tell you that I need to leave school this morning for at most an hour, my junior brother is ill and I need to take him to a doctor."

Since I've never done such before and as a diligent teacher, he said no problem, that I may leave.

I left his office, delighted that I had deceived him so easily and can now go back home in order to embark on the journey with my brother.

It wasn't until I left the school compound that I realised my lie is so expensive and could lead to the loss of my job. I waved off the thought of what would happen if I didn't return back to work after one hour.

Needed to state here is the fact that I thought I had dropped all my questions for the on-going Mid-term test, not knowing that I didn't drop that of one of the classes.

I got home and off we went to Ibadan. After one hour I expected my boss's call but he didn't call, so, I felt i had escaped the first day of my uninformed absence. I started anticipating how to tackle his call the next day if he didn't see me at work.

We arrived Ibadan safely, I checked my brother in into his hostel then went to stay over in my friend's place.

The next morning I went to school for my SOR, I was in one of the offices for my clearance when i got a call from one of my colleagues at work.

My lie immediately came haunting at me, I didn't know what he was calling for but definitely knew the call is centred on my absence from work. He kept calling and I ignored the calls putting my phone on silence.

My boss himself started calling afterwards, I ignored his call because of the lie I had told him the previous day. I later switched off my phone.

What I never knew then, but was to know later was that they weren't calling based on my absence but because they couldn't find the question I omitted.

When I got back to Lagos, my immediate junior brother told me that he got a call from my office, they asked after me and if I dropped any question at home. That was when it dawned on me that I was in a big mess for good and I needed to come out straight to get myself out of the mess.

Now, the first lie I made begat another lie as I pick up my brother's phone and called back the line that called him which turned out to be my boss's.

"Hello sir, I'm very sorry I didn't come back to work on Tuesday and also was absent on Wednesday. It's a long story, I lost my phone while I was taking my junior brother to the hospital"

My boss replied:

"Oh, no wonder! I've been worried as I was unable to reach you. Your line was going through at first, but you weren't picking, I felt you were ignoring my calls intentionally until it was later switched off. It is well, we will see on Monday."

I ended the call and started jumping all over the room, I had fooled the boss again.

Now, I'm back to work, everyone had bought my lie but I'm bored.

Who am I deceiving?

I couldn't take my phone to work again, because I had to cover up my lie that my phone is lost.

I only get to use my phones at night, when I'm back from work.

Advice me, should I say the truth? Or keep up with my lies.

Moral Lesson

A lie gives birth to thousands of other lies. When you make the first lie, it might seem sweet at first but it's fruits(shame) hurts a lot.

13
$ 0.14
$ 0.05 from @Zhyne06
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.02 from @FarmGirl
+ 2
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

Comments

hmmm. i had an experience about lying too. I called work saying im not feeling well and wont he about to come but the truth was, i just want to rest some more. Work gets very stressful sometimes. But good thing was, i only did that once. :) i dont want to have some bad record at work.

I guess, lying a little doesnt hurt as long as you dont do it often right? 🤭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Smiles. True. But at the same time we need to be mindful of the kind of lie we speak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, what goes around, comes around. Treat others the way you wanted them to treat you. Thanks for this champ.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's quite an interesting story :) And yes, it is a proven fact that when one starts to lie, it will be easier the next time. So you have to come clean now so you won't get into the habit :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. We need to come out straight right from the start

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the best to do to avoid having to remember many things just so you don't get caught lying :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That why it is good to always stand by the truth, you feel free with the truth

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh yes. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear, I can understand the situation you are in right now. And yes, one single lie will lead to many more lies. So it's always good to tell the truth from the beginning. I even thought you would say that you weren't with your phone or something but you had to shoot a heavier lie lol. So sorry about that. But I think the best thing to do now is just to tell your boss the truth. He might understand and forgive you so that you can also forgive yourself, have peace of mind and then go to school with your phone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the advice.

I'll do the necessary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay. You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go to his office and tell him the truth. I doubt if you will comfortable with going to school without your phone. One day you will tempted to take it there and use. You will try to hide it from him and the other staffs but the thing is they will know. And you will be tagged a Dishonest person

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm,it is very easy to say but very hard to do. Like we all know, the truth will set us free and clear our conscience. I will advise you say the truth,because I don't think you know the conversation that might have come up between your brother and boss during his call.Just say the truth

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ummmh. I'll ponder on this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You could throw in a phone case, or buy a screen guard, make it look different...and that's very true lie brings more lie... good one

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It looks like you are professional in lying King 🧐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, no am not, I made a bad suggestion and corrected myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, it's alright then. Next time don't make it o

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's more lie, she should just come straight with her boss. Tell him the truth

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Alrght @HappyBoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mean I should keep up with the lie?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No don't...tell the truth, it was just a reasoning from a different direction...the truth is always the best thing to do...thanks @Happyboy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes brother 🤝

$ 0.00
2 years ago