When the going gets Tough

4 28
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago

March 10th, 2022.

When the going gets tough, only the tough gets going.

This is an adage that my father say regularly, my hero and my inspiration. A man who taught me that nothing in life comes easy. That I have to work for what I want, and that things worth fighting for are worth standing up for.

This adage not only defines the values that drives what I do, but also the values that guide me personally.

Now let’s get going.

When the going gets tough, only the tough gets going.

I’m used to reading the adages.

“When you don’t succeed, try, try, try again.”

“Nothing in the world fails like success.”

“If at first you don’t succeed, you are running about average.”

The quote serves as a reminder of a very simple truth- life is hard and full of challenges. It serves as a reminder that if you have faced hardship before, you have what it takes to get through tough times.

By being strong and resolute enough to overcome these challenges, you are in fact tougher than most others who will not be able to handle these hardships which can range from physical, emotional and mental strains.

Although widely used because of its accuracy and its simplicity, most people tend to forget an important part – that one may only be tough when the going gets tough.

When the going gets tough, only the tough gets going.

This is a popular saying but its power has been lost on too many people.

In society today we’re afraid to be called weak and be ostracized by society. It’s taboo to talk about our issues or feelings. A lot of us are afraid to be vulnerable, but it is that vulnerability that gives us the strength to move forward.

I’m not afraid of being called “weak” as I know that within my vulnerability exists strength. I am a little disappointed in myself because I have let fear stop me from achieving a lot of things in life. Fear has stopped me from getting close to people in an intimate manner by using the excuse that I’m not ready or I’m not emotionally available.

When life gets tough, the tough get going. That’s a mantra that should resonate with us all.

Let’s say you’re trying to set up a business, but it isn’t happening. You are having trouble getting it off the ground.

What do you do?

What do you do when you get stuck?

What do you do when you want something so bad and don’t know how to make it happen?

What do you do when you want to be an entrepreneur, but you are scared of failing?

The answer is simple: Do it anyway.

3
$ 3.99
$ 3.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 2
Sponsors of QueenRaay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago

Comments

True, instead of getting tired we should see it as a form of motivation. Challenges are ladders to greatness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed life has full of struggles and challenges. When we get tough we can also get through those struggles.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Was just thinking the same, Queen!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right. Just do it. Just like Nike’s motto

$ 0.02
2 years ago